Chapal Jean-François Bardinon

Chapal, King of French Aviation Jacket 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on telegram
Share on whatsapp

In central Paris, facing Tuileries Garden, Behind a heavy wooden gate of a Haussmann townhouse on rue de Rivoli locates the showroom of the French aviator jacket maker — Chapal. With the buzz sound as I entered the password, I let the heavy gate shut out noises on the busy avenue. Inside the building is tranquil, I found myself stepping on the geometric-lined mosaic floor surrounded by marble walls, sculptured ceilings with the illumination of the afternoon sunlight through the stained glass windows. It feels nothing like a luxury shopping experience but rather the 007 on a secret mission. And that’s exactly what Chapal’s clients would experience when they visit the showroom.

Who doesn’t have a leather jacket in their wardrobe? It’s beyond fashion and trend and has nothing to do with gender or age. Even my grandpa, a retired lieutenant in his eighties — an age of detachment from material desires — was yearning for a leather jacket and eventually got one with his pension last winter. The model my grandpa got was a loose-cutting long jacket in brown calf leather, which I didn’t appreciate at first. I’m more used to fit-cutting biker jackets which prevailed in fashion in the recent decade. It was not until me browsing Chapal’s catalogue did I realise the iconic 1914 Jacket was the archetype of my grandpa’s leather jacket. 

CHAPAL USAAF & 1914 JACKET
CHAPAL 1914 & USAAF Jacket

With 190 years of history of tanning leathers and the savoir-faire of supplying flight jackets to the US air force during the two World Wars makes Chapal the indisputable King of classical leather jackets. In 1914, at the beginning of World War I, Chapal produced a long flying jacket for the French aviators. Back then, the zipper was not invented yet, so the jacket was fastened by a leather belt. Today, to memorise the legacy, the brand is still producing the same model in its collections.

What’s worth mentioning is Chapal also created the prototype of the emblematic A-1 jacket in 1925. During WWI, aviation technology advanced rapidly and the cockpit in the fighting planes are filled with new instruments, which leads to narrower space for the pilot to move around. For better agility and flexibility, A-1 was born as the first short flight jacket replacing the cumbersome long version. On 1927 May 21st, Charles Lindbergh complete the first-ever nonstop solo transatlantic flight from NYC to Paris in that iconic A-1 jacket. By the time A-1 was officially introduced to the US army in 1927, it was featured button fastening, as the zipper was just invented and only applied on luggage. Today, to pay tribute to the original model, Chapal’s A-1 jacket is still fastened by 8 high-quality horn buttons.

Chapal collection
The second from left is Chapal A-1 jacket

Chapal has been making leather jackets in the same workshop in Crocq, a small town in central France, that stays loyal to its original cuts and methods a hundred years ago. One of Chapal’s best sellers for years is the USAAF (USA Air Force) jacket. The USAAF was a combination of the A-2 and the G-1 jacket in design. A-2, the upgraded version of the A-1 jacket used in WWII, was finally equipped with a zipper closure. As for G-1, the model replaced A-2 in 1943, famously worn by Tom Cruise in Top Gun, features a bi-swing back and mouton fur collar. Chapal’s USAAF has a detachable sheep fur collar and the waist and cuff feature woollen knitted ribs as the original design.

Chapal USAAF
Chapal USAAF by Jean-François
Claire from Chapal
Claire demonstrating Chapal USAAF jacket
Chapal USAAF
Chapal USAAF

During the past Pitti-Uomo, I had a conversation with Jean-François Bardinon, the Creative Director of Chapal and the sixth generation of the family business. Jean-François proudly mentioned the year 1934 to me as an important milestone for Chapal. As in 1934, with its overseas factory in Brooklyn, Chapal invented an exclusive patent of plastic coating on sheepskin to make it waterproof. Back then, many planes are still open-air and uninsulated, this technic was applied on the bomber jackets (B-3) for the US air force to keep the soldiers from cold and wet.  

Chapal B-3 jacket
Chapal B-3 jacket
Chapal RAF Jacket
Chapal RAF Jacket

We never used a supplier.

Jean-François Bardinon

“We never used a supplier.” Jean-François’s philosophy to Chapal is the total in-house manufacture of all the articles from jackets to racing helmets, from shoes to driving gloves. You can feel the quality of those jackets from touching the leather, experiencing the smooth Riri zipper, checking the silk lining, impeccable stitching and all the details inside the garment. Each jacket making process was assigned to one particular artisan, and every jacket is attached with a label inside the pocket noting the craftsman who made it.

Benefiting from having its own tannery and manufactory workshop in France, Chapal has the privilege to choose only the best quality leathers for its products. Laurence, the business manager of Chapal, told me that the thickness of the sheep leather (a specific breed from central France, southeast region Les Causses) they use for the jackets is around 1.2 cm, which is thick enough for shoemaking.

 

The brand Chapal didn’t emerge from some fashionable ideas on the street of Paris, but from the nearly two-century-old tannery in Crocq, France. Their tannery is specialised in high-quality sheep leather, shearling and sheep fur. One of the strengths of Chapal’s savour-fair is to transform naturally rough sheep fur into a silky texture. The secret formula to make such a transformation was kept inside the brand with very old machines involved in the process. As Laurence explained to me: “In the region where Chapal was born, the workers couldn’t find jobs, so they had to go to Lyon, which is very famous for silk history, so they learn how to dyeing the silk, and (when they work for Chapal) they tried to apply the technic on the rabbit fur, that was the original invention of the Chapal family for the first time in history”. Colourful furs are popular among customers, and as you can imagine, orders arrived from all over the world to Chapal: “the success arrives immediately and Chapal started as a big company immediately”, emphatically noted by Jean-François. In 70s’ Chapal used to supply fur for luxury labels including Fendi and Christian Dior, but now the manufactory is exclusively for the Chapal collection. 

Chapal USAAF
Chapal USAAF

The impeccably luxurious use of leather, the original military cutting and the history of supplying France & USA air force during the two world wars are the three reasons connoisseurs love to go to Chapal for their leather jacket to be made.

>
error: Content is protected !!

We use cookies to tailor your experience, measure site performance. By clicking on ‘Got it’, you agree that cookies can be placed. You can view our privacy policies here.

Make your inbox in style

Style Digest, Fashion Decoding & Artisan Insight

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

AGNES SELECT MOTIF

Chapal Jean-François Bardinon

Chapal,巴黎飛行夾克世家

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 pinterest
分享在 email
分享在 telegram
分享在 whatsapp

在巴黎中心,正對著杜樂麗花園,裡沃利大街上矗立著一棟奧斯曼聯排別墅,厚重的木門後是法國飛行員夾克品牌 Chapal 的 Showroom (展廳)。隨著一聲嗡鳴,我輸入密碼打開了大門,將大道上的熙熙攘攘關在門外。內庭很安靜,踩在幾何線條的馬賽克地磚上,大理石墻面,雕花天花板,午後的陽光透過一大面彩繪玻璃照進廳堂裡。這和往常的奢侈品購物經驗截然不同,簡直像是 007 在執行某次秘密任務。而這就是 Chapal 的客戶拜訪他們展廳時的體驗。

誰的衣櫥裡沒有一件皮夾克呢?它超越了時尚和潮流,與性別年齡無礙。甚至連我祖父,一位八十多歲的退休少尉,也在去年冬天著了魔似的想要一件皮夾克,並且最終用他的養老年金購入了一件。我祖父的那件夾克是長款棕色牛皮的,我一開始並不十分喜歡。因為我更習慣於近十年來常見的修身機車夾克。而直到我翻看 Chapal 的產品目錄時,才赫然發現祖父那件夾克原來是以經典的 1914 法國飛行員夾克為原型的。

CHAPAL USAAF & 1914 JACKET
CHAPAL 1914 & USAAF Jacket

擁有長達一百九十年的製革歷史,並在兩次世界大戰期間為美國空軍提供裝備,Chapal 無疑是經典飛行員夾克的王者。在一戰初期的 1914 年,Chapal 為法國空軍製作長款飛行員夾克,當時拉鏈還沒有被發明出來,夾克的腰部以一條皮帶收緊。直到今天,品牌為了紀念這段歷史仍然繼續生產著同款長夾克。

值得一提的是,Chapal 在1925年創造了著名的 A-1 空軍夾克的原型。在一戰中,航空技術高速發展,戰鬥機的飛行艙內被各種新科技填滿,可供飛行員活動的空間更狹窄了。為了靈活敏捷的操作,A-1 作為歷史上首個短款夾克應運而生,取代了之前更為厚重不便的長款夾克。在 1927 年5 月 21 日,Charles Lindbergh (查爾斯·林德伯格)正是穿著  A-1 款夾克完成了從紐約到巴黎的史上首次單人橫跨大西洋的飛行記錄。A-1 飛行夾克在 1927 年正式被引入美國空軍裝備,當時拉鏈剛發明不久,主要應用在箱包上,所以 A-1夾克上裝配的是紐扣。為了向原版 A-1 致敬,Chapal 的 A-1 飛行夾克也是配以 8 粒質感淳厚的牛角扣。

Chapal collection
左起第二件為 Chapal A-1夾克

Chapal 在法國中部小鎮 Crocq (克羅)的同一個工坊裡製作的皮夾克仍然忠於一個世紀前的經典剪裁和製作方法。 USAAF 美國空軍夾克是 Chapal 最暢銷的款式。在設計上 USAAF 夾克融合了 A-2 和 G-1 的特點。A-2 夾克是二戰期間征用的 A-1 夾克的升級版,從 A-1的紐扣變更為拉鏈。而湯姆克魯斯在電影壯志凌雲 (Top Gun) 中穿著的正是 G-1 夾克, G-1 在 A-2 的基礎上添加了便於大幅度活動的後背雙側的內褶和保暖的毛領,並在 1943 年正式取代了 A-2 夾克。Chapal 的 USAAF 配備了可拆卸的羊毛領,腰部和袖口採用和原始設計相同的羊毛羅紋針織收緊。

Chapal USAAF
Chapal USAAF by Jean-François
Claire from Chapal
Claire 示範 Chapal USAAF 夾克
Chapal USAAF
Chapal USAAF

在剛過去不久的 Pitti-Uomo 期間,我和擔任設計總監的Chapal 家族第六代主理人 Jean-François Bardinon (讓-弗朗索瓦·巴迪農) 進行了交談。讓-弗朗索瓦自豪地向我提到 1934 年在 Chapal 歷史中是重要的一年。 那一年 Chapal 在紐約布魯克林的工廠發明了讓羊皮防水的塑料塗層專利技術。 當時,很多戰鬥機駕駛倉還開放式的,而 Chapal 的這項技術被運用在美國空軍的轟炸機夾克(B-3)上令士兵們在高空飛行時免受寒冷和潮濕的侵襲。

Chapal B-3 jacket
Chapal B-3 jacket
Chapal RAF Jacket
Chapal RAF Jacket

我們從沒用過一家代工廠。

Jean-François Bardinon

“我們從沒用過一家代工廠。”  Jean-François 堅持 Chapal 全線產品都在法國的品牌工坊內製作。在高级时装屋外包产品线早已不是秘密的今天,Chapal 在自己的工坊中制作从飛行員夾克到到賽車头盔再到駕駛手套和鞋履在内的所有产品。当你触摸到Chapal夹克所使用的皮革的質感, 還有绸缎里衬、 缝线甚至瑞士造的riri拉链, 便能知晓其背后的工艺分量。夾克製作的環節會分配給一位特定的工匠,每件夾克的口袋裡都貼有一個標籤註明製作者的姓名首字母。

得益於在法國擁有自己的製革廠和工作坊,Chapal 能夠為自己的產品選用最優質的皮料。Chapal 的經理人 Laurence 告訴我他們選用的羊皮(一種生活在法國中部的放養綿羊)厚度在 1.2 釐米左右,這種厚度的羊皮即使是用來製作皮鞋也是綽綽有餘的。

 

事實上,Chapal 並非誕生於巴黎街頭的時尚創意,而是源自法國克羅 (Crocq) 擁有近兩個世紀歷史的製革廠。他們的製革廠專門生產優質羊皮和羊毛。 Chapal 在製革技術上的優勢之一是將天然粗糙的羊毛轉化為絲綢般柔滑的質地,這一不外傳的秘訣還要使用到非常古老的機器。Laurence 向我解釋道:“當時在 Chapal 誕生的地區,工人找不到工作,所以他們不得不奔赴以絲綢製作聞名的 Lyon (里昂),在那裡他們掌握了染織絲綢的技術,在回到家鄉為 Chapal 工作時,這些工人嘗試將項絲染技術應用到兔毛上,於是這成為了 Chapal 家族史上的首次發明。” 五顏六色的皮草大受歡迎,訂單從世界各地湧來:“成功立即到來,Chapal 立即成為一家大公司”,Jean-François 強調。 在 70 年代 Chapal 曾經為 Fendi 和 Christian Dior 等奢侈品牌供應皮草,但現在他們的製革廠僅專供 Chapal 自產系列。

Chapal USAAF
灰色版本的 Chapal USAAF夾克

無可挑剔的奢華皮革使用、忠於經典的軍用剪裁以及在兩次世界大戰期間為法國和美國空軍提供服務的歷史是風格鑑賞家們喜歡去 Chapal 定做皮夾克的三個理由。

>
error: Content is protected !!

We use cookies to tailor your experience, measure site performance. By clicking on ‘Got it’, you agree that cookies can be placed. You can view our privacy policies here.

Make your inbox in style

Style Digest, Fashion Decoding & Artisan Insight

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

AGNES SELECT MOTIF