Isaac Reina by Agnes' Select
ARTISAN | 名匠 | FASHION | 時尚

Artisanship in Metropolitan Cities | Isaac Reina Update

Share:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on tumblr
Share on email
Isaac Reina by Agnes' Select

In the earlier article: An Interview with Isaac Reina, I mentioned that the bags and small leather goods of Isaac Reina’s are handcrafted carefully in four different workshops all based in Paris and its area.

A few days ago, I’ve received an email from Mr Simon Benichou, who manages the Isaac Reina store  on 12 Rue de Thorigny, he imparts to me that from 2019, Isaac Reina has included a new Spanish atelier in its production partnership:

Indeed, all our products used to be made in small workshops in or across Paris. But since last year, we developed a relationship with a workshop in a town in the south of Spain well known for their small to medium-sized leather workshops. Isaac himself went there and worked closely with their team and since then, we all work toward the same goal which is maintaining the same level of quality for all our products, whether they are made in Paris or not.

Simon Benichou

Compare with many big companies that set the factory in small towns, there are some brands like Isaac Reina decided to source craftsmen and artisans in metropolitan cities like Paris or New York. It helps to reinvigorate local crafts that are on the brink of disappearing. 

For the brand itself, although the margin may shrink a little due to the higher cost of making, the business saves time from flying around the world to do quality control. Meanwhile, a network of local artisans usually has better agility to adapt to the designer’s new ideas.

发掘大都市内的匠人 -- Isaac Reina篇更新

分享文章:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on tumblr
Share on email
Isaac Reina by Agnes' Select

在先前一片文章:Isaac Reina | 有眼力才会爱上的巴黎皮具设计师 里面,我提到他们所有手袋和小皮具皆由四个位于巴黎及周边地区的手工工坊制作完成 。

直到前几天收到品牌店铺负责人Simon Benichou先生的邮件,提及Isaac Reina自从2019年起首次跨出巴黎,将西班牙的一家小皮具工坊纳入生产版图:

确实,我们所有的产品以前都是在巴黎或巴黎区域的小型工坊内生产的。 但是,自去年以来,我们与西班牙南部一个小镇的一家作坊建立了合作关系,这个小镇尤以中小型皮革作坊而闻名。 Isaac (艾萨克) 亲自去了那里与他们的团队进行了紧密合作,从那时起,我们所有人都朝着同一目标努力,即让所有产品(无论是否在巴黎制造)保持同样的高品质。

Simon Benichou

相较于将工厂设在郊区的大企业,一些规模类似Isaac Reina的品牌选择在巴黎或纽约这样历史悠久的大都市中寻找匠人和工坊来制作他们的产品。这帮助了大都市内濒临灭绝的手工艺的复兴。

同时,对于品牌本身而言,虽然制造成本可能会提高,但主理人无需搭乘长途飞机去管理产品品质,同时还能和当地能工巧匠建立长久的合作,配合每一季的新设计灵活调整生产,不失为一种健康的模式。

A.G

Founder & Editor of AGNES' SELECT
关闭菜单
>
error: Content is protected !!

We use cookies to tailor your experience, measure site performance and present relevant offers and advertisements. By clicking on ‘Got it’, you agree that cookies can be placed. You can view our privacy policies here.

Make Your Inbox in Style

Style Digest, Fashion Decoding & Artisan Insight

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy.