watches and wonders

WATCHES & WONDERS – Future of Watch Fairs?

Sometimes change is so vast and dislocating that it is hard to tell disaster from opportunity.

The Economist

Under the pandemic of Covid-19, the social distance measures and lockdowns in many European countries, Japan, and some states in the U.S. have decimated the luxury business and made the holding of watch events impossible. It’s hardly unexpected that Baselworld and Watches & Wonders Geneva (formerly called SIHH) cancelled their trade show for 2020. However, in this tumult, Baselworld and Watches & Wonders (W&W), two of the leading watch fairs in the world, are facing diametrically opposing prospects.

In this episode of 8past10 Watch Talks, our host Kristian Haagen and Nick Meyer shared their take on the Watches and Wonders digital show.

After Rolex, Tudor, Patek Philippe, Chanel and Chopard announced to leave Baselworld to start a new Geneva-based salon collaborating with the FHH this April, LVMH watch brands also followed the wave. The organizers have announced they are cancelling the event for 2021. A downfall is almost inevitable for Baselworld, the oldest watch trade show roots back to 1917.

On the contrary, transforming the traditional trade show into a digitalised platform for the wider audience is the path taken by FHH, the organiser of W&W. “The vision is to transform what has been achieved by SIHH to Watches and Wonders, to celebrate the watching making excellence with the physical event of W&W in Geneva and Miami, and with a permanent presence online with watchesandwonders.com,” said Fabienne Lupo, the Chairwoman and Managing Director of FHH.

A fashion show for watches

Looking at the macroeconomy, while multiple industries from the airlines to retailing are sinking into the mire, some IT firms like Zoom and Slack who provides specialised tools for online collaboration are seeing a surge of their users. In hindsight, we can see how important it is to accelerate the digitalisation of the watch industry, and push forward the omnichannel development.

With the new version of W&W, FHH aims to build a direct link with clients and customers, to address all the different audience from professional media, retailers, to the general public, especially the younger generations, in the same format of a salon.  According to Fabienne, the new W&W is “more like a fashion show for watches”.

Fabienne Lupo

Fabienne explained to Hodinkee in a podcast: “In the past 25 years, I think SIHH is a private and professional show, trade show… But now the way to do business and to sell watches has changed a lot. We have to adapt, and the show has to adapt also. Because the show finally is nothing else than a kind of media.”

We have to adapt, and the show has to adapt also. Because the show finally is nothing else than a kind of media.

Fabienne Lupo

Future of Watch Retailers

The urge to adapt doesn’t only emanate from FHH along. Thierry Stern, president of Patek Philippe, addressed, “We constantly have to adapt ourselves, question what we do. Since what was right yesterday may not necessarily be valid today!” For the first time, Patek Philippe allows its authorised retailers to sell their watches online, provisionally.

If we are not going to waste this crisis, the industry will learn at a rapid speed to adapt to digital in their entire communication process, and also in their selling process.

Nick Meijer

The retailers who have missed out on online sales, also because the brands didn’t necessarily support it, I think they need to speed up their game. Richemont, who owns Mr Porter, why wouldn’t they offer all the retailers to sell online in their own name having a microsite on the e-commerce platform. It’s doable. (Richemont is one of the founders of FHH)

Kristian Haagen

In fact, they did it at certain extend. From April 25th to 29th, W&W collaborated with Net-a-Porter (owned by Richemont group, who has a concession store on Tmall, Taobao) and holt a on cloud watch fair in Tmall. And many watch brands are available from Net-a-Porter’s Tmall concession, from A Lange Söhne to Roger Dubuis. However, according to the sales number of the watches, we can’t say optimistically that the Chinese customers are ready to buy luxury watches on Tmall or any other e-commerce platforms. 

Nick: Watches & Wonders proves that online can add a lot of luxury experience on the purchasing process… The balance between the boutique, off-line event and the online service is shifting.

Influencers

IWC首席执行官克里斯托弗·格莱恩格-海尔(Christoph Grainger-Herr)
IWC 首席執行官克里斯托弗·格萊恩格-海爾(Christoph Grainger-Herr)在視頻中介紹品牌新系列腕錶

The restrictions of travelling can shroud shadows upon the influencers financial condition, who might see their income shrinking.

Meanwhile, we’ve also seen the role of watch brand CEO’s are shifting from operations-focused to PR-focus during the quarantine.

Kristian: When you look at the Watches and Wonders, the influencers are right there. It’s the CEOs! They have to seat there with whatever backdrop to tell us how amazing their watches are.

In the next article, I’ll introduce you the novelties from W&W that liked by Nick, Kristian and Myself. Please stay tuned!

>
error: Content is protected !!

We use cookies to tailor your experience, measure site performance. By clicking on ‘Got it’, you agree that cookies can be placed. You can view our privacy policies here.

Make your inbox in style

Style Digest, Fashion Decoding & Artisan Insight

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

AGNES SELECT MOTIF

watches and wonders

Watches & Wonders

钟表与奇迹 -- 钟表展的未来?

分享文章:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on tumblr
Share on email

有时变化来得太大且太剧烈,以至于很难分辨是灾难还是机会。

The Economist

在Covid-19冠状病毒的大流行中,从欧洲到日本,各个国家和地区社交距离措施和封锁措施使奢侈品业务大打折扣,钟表展更加无法举行。所以当听到巴塞尔表展(Baselworld)和日内瓦国际钟表与奇迹展(前身为SIHH)推迟并取消了2020年的展览日程时,没人会觉得惊讶。然而,作为世界上最重要的两个钟表展览会,巴塞尔钟表展和钟表与奇迹(Watches & Wonders, 简称W&W)正面临截然相反的前景。

在8past10 Watch Talks的这一集中,我们的主持人Kristian Haagen和Nick Meijer分享了他们对Watches & Wonders 钟表与奇迹云端表展的洞见。

今年4月,劳力士(Rolex),帝舵(Tudor),百达翡丽(Patek Philippe),香奈儿(Chanel)和萧邦(Chopard)宣布离开巴塞尔国际钟表珠宝展(Baselworld)与FHH(瑞士高级制表基会) 合作在日内瓦开设一家新沙龙。而LVMH旗下手表品牌也紧随其后宣布离开。接连失去重要参展品牌的Baselworld终于5月初宣布2021年的展会也将取消。这些打击让追溯至1917年,历史最悠久的巴塞尔国际钟表珠宝展不可避免的走向衰亡。

相反的,W&W的组织者FHH在今年将传统的贸易展览会转变为面向大众的数字化平台watchesandwonders.com。 FHH主席兼董事总经理Fabienne Lupo说:“我们的愿景是将SIHH所取得的成就转化为“钟表与奇迹”,结合W&W在日内瓦和迈阿密的实体展览活动以及在watchandwonders.com上的线上发布来为卓越的制表业造势”。

腕表的时装秀

纵观宏观经济,从航空业到零售业的多个行业正在陷入泥潭,但诸如Zoom和Slack之类的提供在线办公软件的IT公司却能逆风而上快速占据市场。事后诸葛,我们可以看到加速钟表行业的数字化并推动全渠道发展是至关重要的。

通过新版本的W&W,FHH的目标是与客户建立直接的联系,以线上沙龙的形式与包括专业媒体,零售商到普通大众(尤其是年轻一代)在内的所有不同受众进行交流。根据Fabienne的说法,新的W&W“更像是手表的时装秀”。

Fabienne Lupo

Fabienne在Hodinkee的播客中解释说:“在过去的25年中,我认为SIHH是一场私人化且专业的展览,贸易展览……但是现在做生意和销售手表的方式已经发生了很大变化。我们必须适应,展览也必须随之改变。因为说到底展览也不过是媒体的一种。

我们必须适应,展览也必须随之改变。因为说到底展览也不过是媒体的一种。

Fabienne Lupo

钟表零售商的未来

The Hour Glass, one of Asia’s leading luxury watch retail groups

迫切要适应新环境的不仅是FHH。百达翡丽(Patek Philippe)总裁蒂埃里·斯特恩(Thierry Stern)说:“我们不断不得不调适自己,质疑我们所做的事情,因为昨天的正确做法今天不一定奏效!”在疫情期间百达翡丽首次允许品牌的授权零售商在线出售手表。

如果我们不让这场危机白过,那么钟表行业需要快速学习在其整个沟通以及销售过程中适应数字化。

Nick Meijer

一些钟表商没有发展线上零售,也是由于许多品牌未必支持在线销售,我认为他们需要加快速度赶上。拥有电商Mr Porter的历峰集团(Richemont)可以考虑在他们的电子商务平台上为钟表零售商们提供拥有一个微型网站来实现在线销售。这是可以做到的。(历峰集团是FHH的创办机构之一)

Kristian Haagen

事实上,他们的确做了类似的事情。从4月25日至29日,W&W与Net-a-Porter(归属历峰集团旗下,后者在淘宝天猫拥有专营店)合作,在天猫举行了云上表展。 同时在Net-a-Porter的天猫店内也上架了从江诗丹顿(Vacheron Constantin)到朗格(A. Lange & Söhne)在内的众多高级腕表。更有一枚售价高达159万人民币的罗杰杜彼(Roger Duduis)Excalibur Aventador S系列限量款。然而从累计销量来看,是否会更多的消费者愿意从淘宝天猫下单购买这样高额的奢侈腕表仍然有待观望。

意见领袖

IWC首席执行官克里斯托弗·格莱恩格-海尔(Christoph Grainger-Herr)
IWC 首席执行官克里斯托弗·格莱恩格-海尔(Christoph Grainger-Herr)在视频中介绍品牌新系列腕表

在播客中,Nick认为出行限制会给许多所谓 “意见领袖”(网红)的财务状况蒙上阴影,他们的收入可能面临缩水。同时,在隔离期间,我们还看到腕表品牌CEO的角色已从以运营为中心转移到以公众关系为中心。

Kristian:当你访问钟表与奇迹的网站时,意见领袖就在那里。他们是CEO们!他们担起代言人的责任,在视频中对观众讲解腕表品牌的历史和制表艺术的魅力所在。

在下一篇8past10 Watchtalk中,我将向您介绍Nick,Kristian和我自己喜欢的W&W的新款腕表。敬请期待!

* Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy

© Agnes' Select 2018 - 2020 All rights reserved. No reproduction or republication without written permission.
© Agnes' Select 2018 - 2020 版权所有 禁止未經授權複製或轉載所有內容,如文章,照片和插圖等。
>
error: Content is protected !!

We use cookies to tailor your experience, measure site performance and present relevant offers and advertisements. By clicking on ‘Got it’, you agree that cookies can be placed. You can view our privacy policies here.

Make Your Inbox in Style

Style Digest, Fashion Decoding & Artisan Insight

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy.