ADVERTISEMENT | 廣告

Tommaso Melani

The Man Behind Stefano Bemer

* Read in your language | 選擇文章語言

In conversation with Tommaso Melani, his point of view of the Florentine style & the story behind taking over Stefano Bemer

Florentine Gentleman

Among his titles, Tommaso Melani is best known as the mastermind of the prestigious shoemaker Stefano Bemer and the CEO of Florentine tailoring house Sartoria Vestrucci. Tommaso’s family business Scuola del Cuoio is well known in Florence for leather making and craftsman training. He learned the knowledge and appreciation of traditional artisanship since young through helping the family business. Following his success with Stefano Bemer, aiming to persist the legacy of Florentine style, Tommaso established tailoring company Sartoria Vestrucci in 2017 with Loris Vestrucci on board, who is one of very few remaining Florentine master tailors on a par with Antonio Liverano.

Locating in the heart of Italy, Florence is famous for being the cradle of the Renaissance, this artistically and economically fertile land nested a particular aesthetic throughout history. As a Florentine, Tommaso proudly describes the accent of Florentine craftsmanship as “balance, effortless, harmonised, and yet very understated”. Echoing its central location, the Florentine accent is more neutral with “nothing popping out” in comparison with the relaxed Neapolitan style in the south and the sharper Milanese style in the north. Tommaso believes such aesthetic, or accent, reflects the character of the city and the spirit of its citizens. He was emphatic that the excessive and flamboyant impression on Pitti Uomo is never Florence, “Florentines don’t want to be seen too much, they can be seen, they don’t want to be noticed.” 

Sartoria Vestrucci

Tommaso Melani’s Personal Wardrobe

No Front Darts

Although lack of interest in being ostentatious, Florentine tailoring style speaks to connoisseurs through the details. One trait of a Florentine jacket is the absence of front darts (dart: a pointed fold that is sewn in the front of the jacket to make a better fitting). Purportedly, the dart-less cut was first invented by Frederick Scholte, who also created the illustrious drape cut. Loris Vestrucci inherited this approach and made it his house style. “Florence is the only tailoring school left that doesn’t use the front seam as the tool to shape the jacket”, said Tommaso proudly. He further explains: “What the front seam does is it shapes the sides, it opens the quarter so it seat on your hips, it was created as a shortcut”. It is more complex and skills-demanding to cut a jacket without the front dart, because “you have to cut the front to the shape already, there’s no faster way to do it”, and to get the Vestrucci shape, “you have to iron the canvas very well, which nobody does nowadays……”

Sartoria Vestrucci Fitting Process
Tommaso Melani during a Sartoria Vestrucci three piece suit fitting process
Tommaso Melani during a Sartoria Vestrucci three piece suit fitting process
Tommaso Melani during a Sartoria Vestrucci three piece suit fitting process

Taking Over Stefano Bemer

Tommaso Melani

In late October of 2008, a grand event was taking place in Florence’s Four Seasons hotel inviting a selected group of Florentine craftsmen to showcase the best crafts of the city. As a well-known shoemaker, Stefano Bemer was invited, and Tommaso was also there representing Scuola del Cuoio. Coincidently, they were designated in the same showroom by chance, and that’s the occasion when Tommaso first meet Stefano. As the conversation began, Stefano complained it is hard to find a shoemaker for his brand, and Tommaso suggested they could work together on training project as his family business is more resourceful in craftsmen training, For training, besides bringing income, is also a good way to find good shoemakers

 

In hindsight, Tommaso introduced the training program to Stefano Bemer that allows a faster-producing pace and incentivised increasing orders from customers. Yet when he first brought up the idea, it didn’t happen immediately. 

 

In 2011, the health condition of maestro Stefano worsened, following his tragic passing away in September 2012, Melani talked to Bemer’s family and ask if he could help. At that moment, finding a new strategy for the company is crucial, yet it seems nobody from the family could really involve in the business. Cristina, the wife of Bemer, knows that Tommaso’s ambition about Stefano Bemer and welcomed his offer. “Cristina doesn’t want the company to be too industrial, she was keen on maintaining the legacy”, said Tommaso. 

 

Continuing the legacy of an already widely respected shoe brand requires commitment. “It was not exactly complimentary, but it’s definitely a good potential business, takes a lot of work, and I need to commit 70% of my time on this”. After talking to his family, Tommaso figured out a way to release himself from daily roles in Scuola del Cuoio so that he can focus on Stefano Bemer.

The RTW Line

Stefano Bemer Shoes

For most bespoke brands, introducing the Ready-to-Wear line is a commercial move, yet for Tommaso, compromising the quality for commercial is not an option. After taking over Stefano Bemer, Tommaso once gave Stefano’s brother a chance to develop the RTW line. However, he’s not satisfied with the result, “so we split, I think it’s for the best.” He explained: “(What Stefano’s brother did) it is not my thing. I want the in-house capacity of production, I want higher quality, I want a pair of shoes to brag about. It has to be better than anything else on the market. It may be more expensive, but it’s better.”

Today, the Tradizione Collection that adapts the same method of bespoke shoemaking became a signature of Stefano Bemer, yet it all begins with a marketing endeavour Tommaso thought about to reach a wider audience: “Nobody makes it, we are going to make the best ready-made shoes possible on the planet!” In 2013, he presented the Replica Russian Reindeer leather RTW shoes with bespoke standards to Isetan (a leading luxury department store in Japan). At that time, the retail price point was 4000 USD a pair. Although Isetan bought a few pairs to display in the store, it was mainly for marketing purposes. To Tommaso’s surprise, those shoes sold out rather shortly and Isetan has been retaining the Stefano Bemer RTW shoes ever since. It gives him more confidence in the RTW line.

Stefano Bemer Oxford

Making great product is always easier than making accessible great product. After fulfilling his standards on quality, Tommaso is facing another challenge— “How can we make it happen without making them so expensive?” This time, it took Tommaso a few years to solve this problem. The first RTW collection of the same model he presented Isetan was introduced in 2016, and the full line of Tradizione Collection with fiddle back and hand-sewn welt debuts in late 2018. It makes Stefano Bemer one of a few shoemakers with an RTW collection that are using completely the same standard of fully bespoke shoes. “I must say, in terms of quality, I haven’t seen anything like that”. With a 1990 USD retail price, “for the money, it’s incredible value”, said Tommaso. 

 

Tommaso doubled the annual sales in the first year after his taking over, and the number kept doubling year after year until 2018. “The commercial success is the fiscal representation of what we’ve been making well, it’s the outcome of the good that we’ve been making”, said Tommaso.

Educate the New Markets

In 2016, Stefano Bemer opened its New York showroom. Although the new market brought new opportunities, Tommaso is always clear that Stefano Bemer is a niche brand compared with multi-national luxury corporations: “I can’t afford massive marketing, be on the front page of a magazine, sponsoring stars… we must educate the client”. 

 

It’s never about money, but knowledge. “It’s a learning process when you realise softer (shoes) doesn’t mean more comfortable or better”, said Tommaso. As an anecdote, some new customers came to Stefano Bemer, to demonstrate their buying power, they told Tommaso that they buy all their shoes at Ferragamo, and normally, Tommaso would wittily respond: “I’m so sorry about that, we can fix it.”

 

For Tommaso, the strategy for the new markets is always about “seeding the idea that there’s something better”. Through educating the new clients on what is well-made shoes, he wishes to stimulate the customers who see fashion brands as the ultimate luxury to reconsider their choice. In Italian: “metti uni pulse nell’orecchio”, meaning to put a flea in the ear, Tommaso explained: “it reminds you that another shoemaker is better than what I’m wearing, it’s troubling you until the moment you try it.”

Future

Tommaso Melani

“We need to have a mission in life, otherwise we are compounding stuff without purpose”, Tommaso said. During the Covid, the energetic entrepreneur is embarking on something up-to-date — sustainable fashion. His new adventure is a sustainable brand called RforPeople, “the idea is to give a very practical and yet ambitious definition of sustainability.” Concerned about the environmental crisis and labour issues caused by the fashion industry, Tommaso created a fashion label using only recycled and repurposed raw material. Furthermore, the brand welcomes customers to return their worn-out sneakers and garments and reuse them to create a new product. Through a language that can be understood by the younger generations, Tommaso aims to communicate his ethical way of being stylish. 

Tommaso Melani RforPeople
RforPeople

When being asked what is his passion in life, Tommaso laughed. For what he is doing, he already put them in the passion categories: “I don’t consider this as a job”. Throughout his life, he pursues the experience of “being challenged, and feeling uncomfortable”. And for the next step, he admits that he wants to find a new way to challenge himself and be active: “I want challenges, I can’t start a new company every time I’m bored.” Traveling is something on his mind. “My curiosity is about experiences.” Enthusiastic about experiencing different cultures, Tommaso thought about South America or Southern Asia as his next destination.

>
error: Content is protected !!

We use cookies to tailor your experience, measure site performance. By clicking on ‘Got it’, you agree that cookies can be placed. You can view our privacy policies here.

Make your inbox in style

Style Digest, Fashion Decoding & Artisan Insight

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

AGNES SELECT MOTIF

Tommaso Melani

Stefano Bemer 背後的男人

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 pinterest
分享在 email
分享在 telegram
分享在 whatsapp

這次,Tommaso Melani (托馬索·梅拉尼) 分享了他對於佛羅倫斯風格的見解,更向我們描述了他接掌Stefano Bemer 背後的故事。

佛羅倫斯紳士

Tommaso Melani (托馬索·梅拉尼) 是遠負盛名的經典手工男鞋品牌 Stefano Bemer的主理人,同時他也是佛羅倫斯訂製西裝店 Sartoria Vestrucci的 CEO。Tommaso Melani 的家族生意Scuola del Cuoio是意大利知名的皮具品牌和皮匠培訓機構。多年來打理家族生意,他累積了對傳統工藝和工匠體系的認知。在2012 年接手 Stefano Bemer 並獲得成功之後,Tommaso又在 2017 年成立了裁縫公司 Sartoria Vestrucci。旨在延續佛羅倫斯的裁剪風格,Sartoria Vestrucci搬出即將退休的Loris Vestrucci參與,Loris 是佛羅倫斯極少數仍在工作的老一輩裁縫大師,另一位與之比肩齊步的是鼎鼎大名的Antoino Liverano 

地處意大利的心臟,佛羅倫斯作為文藝復興的搖籃而聞名,這片在藝術和經濟領域都格外豐饒的土地在漫長世代交疊中也孕育了一種獨特的品味。作為土生土長的佛羅倫斯人,Tommaso 驕傲地將佛羅倫斯的風格描述為:「平衡,游刃有餘,和諧,而且非常低調。」對比南部港口那不勒斯的鬆弛恣意和北部都市米蘭的硬挺和正式,佛羅倫斯的風格同這座城的中心位置相呼應,來得中庸許多,用 Tommaso 的話說就是「不顯得扎眼」。 在他看來,這種風格映現了這座城市的文化特質和市民的精神輪廓。Tommaso特別強調 Pitti Uomo 男裝周期間那些對於經典男裝過度和浮誇的演繹絕非佛羅倫斯風格:「佛羅倫斯人不願意成為焦點,他們可以被看見,但不希望被注目。」

Sartoria Vestrucci

Tommaso Melani 日常著用服裝

不見胸前省縫

雖志不在博取眼球,但佛羅倫斯裁剪風格的優雅總能透過細節傳達。佛羅倫斯剪裁的其中一個顯著特色就是不見胸前的省縫(省縫/Dart: 為使衣服更加合身而在前胸衣料上縫進去的部分)。這種略去省縫的裁剪方式據傳由傳奇裁縫Frederick Scholte 開創,他同時也是Drape suits 的首創者。這種風格後被 Loris Vestrucci 沿用下來。「佛羅倫斯裁剪風格是目前唯一遺留下來不藉助省縫去塑造夾克身形的流派」,Tommaso 不無驕傲地說。他繼而解釋道:「身前的那道縫線目的就是為了修造身側的線條,它幫助衣服下擺展開所以衣服能貼合髖部,是一種捷徑。」要想將一件西裝上衣裁剪得合身而又不藉助這種「捷徑」顯然在技術上更為複雜,因為「你必須完全契合身形地去裁剪前身的布料才能做到,沒有更省事的方式。」而要達到 Vestrucci 的線條,「你必須把裡襯都熨燙得十分妥帖,如今已經沒什麼人這麼做了……」

Sartoria Vestrucci Fitting Process
Tommaso Melani during a Sartoria Vestrucci three piece suit fitting process
Tommaso Melani during a Sartoria Vestrucci three piece suit fitting process
Tommaso Melani during a Sartoria Vestrucci three piece suit fitting process

掌舵 Stefano Bemer

Tommaso Melani

在 2008 年的十月下旬,佛羅倫斯的四季酒店內正舉行一場盛會,活動舉辦方邀請了城裡最具代表性的各類工匠到場展示佛羅倫斯的傳統工藝。作為盛名在外的鞋匠,Stefano Bemer 當然在受邀之列,而代表家族生意 Scuola del Cuoio, Tommaso也在席中。十分湊巧的,二人被安排在同一間展廳裡面, Tommaso和 Stefano初次相遇了。在攀談中,Stefano抱怨要找到合格的鞋匠加入品牌是多麼困難的一件事,恰好Tommaso 的家族生意在匠人培訓方面更具經驗和資源。在 Tommaso 看來,培訓不止可以帶來收入,更是發掘優秀鞋匠的一種方式,他因此建議兩家在培訓項目上合作。後見之明,Tommaso 為 Stefano Bemer引入的培訓項目的確增強了品牌生產力,這也直接刺激了客戶訂單的增加。然而當他初次提議時,事情的發展並非十分順利。

時間到了 2011 年,Stefano 的身體狀況突然惡化,終於在 2012 年九月,大師去世的噩耗傳到 Tommaso耳中。他很快聯繫了 Stefano Bemer的家人,詢問有什麼是他能幫得上忙的地方。彼時,為這個製鞋品牌找到新的經營策略可以說是當務之急,然而放眼家族內部似乎沒有哪位成員能立即擔此重任。Stefano 的妻子 Christina 知道 Tommaso 對於Stefano Bemer這個品牌一直有一些設想,接受了他伸出的橄欖枝:「Christina不希望品牌變得太過工業化,她更想讓品牌一直以來的傳統延續下去」,Tommaso 回憶道。

 

要經營一家大師不再卻仍然盛名在外的製鞋品牌顯然充滿挑戰且需要精力投入。「這不是天上掉下的餡餅,但這一定是一個極具潛力的公司,需要許多的運作,而我需要至少百分之七十的時間投入於此。」在和家族討論後,Tommaso 和家人最終商定了解決方式將他從 Scuola del Cuoio的日常運營中抽身出來,從而專注於發展他對Stefano Bemer 的規劃。

成鞋產品線

Stefano Bemer Shoes

對於大多數定制品牌,引入RTW 都是商業化的一步。然而對於 Tommaso 而言,為了商業目的而折衷了品質是不能接受的。在大師 Stefano Bemer過身後,Tommaso 曾經給過 Stefano 的兄弟一個機會去發展成鞋業務。然而他對於這件事的結果並不滿意,「所以我們就分道揚鑣了,我想這對大家都好。」他進而解釋道:「他所做的事情不是我要的。我想要的是品牌內部的生產能力,我想要更高的品質,我想要一雙能讓我炫耀的鞋。那必須是比市面上任何其他產品都更好的東西。或許價格不菲,但品質更優。」

Stefano Bemer 成鞋系列中最為人推崇的是完全以高級定制皮鞋的工藝標準製作的Tradizione系列,而這完全始於 Tommaso 為了將品牌推向更廣市場而做的一次大膽設想。「沒人做過這件事,我們要製作這個星球上最好的成鞋!」抱著這樣的想法,在 2013 年,他將用 Replica Russian Reindeer 皮革製作的幾雙成鞋呈現給了日本最有影響力的奢侈百貨公司伊勢丹。當時,一雙鞋的零售價格高達四千美金。雖然伊勢丹購入了幾雙陳列在新宿的百貨商店內,但這主要是為了市場營銷的目的。讓 Tommaso 驚訝的是,那些價格不菲的成鞋居然很快被日本的客人買走了。這給了他發展成鞋產品線的信心。同時伊勢丹百貨也從此開始進口 Stefano Bemer 的成鞋系列。

Stefano Bemer Oxford

比起製作出精良的產品,能以可以被市場接受的價格提供精良的產品顯然難度更高。在滿足了對品質的要求之後,Tommaso 面臨著一個新的挑戰——「我們怎樣才能推出成鞋產品線同時又不讓價格過分昂貴?」這一次,Tommaso 花了數年時間才解決這個難題。Stefano Bemer在 2016 年推出了在伊勢丹販售的同款成鞋,而Tradizione系列成鞋的完成則是 2018 年末的事情了。這一舉讓 Stefano Bemer成為世界上少數幾家以高級定制皮鞋標準製作成鞋的品牌。「我必須說,在質量方面,我從未見過任何與之媲美的產品。」最終確定了一千九百九十美元的零售價,Tommaso表示:「以這個價格,買到的是超凡的價值。」

 

 Tommaso透露,在他接掌品牌後第一年,銷售額就比 Stefano 在世時翻了一倍。而在接下來的數年內,品牌一路以每年銷售額翻倍的進度在發展著。不過 Tommaso表示,對他而言這一切都是為了興趣而非金錢:「商業上的成功是我們做好一件事的經濟面反映而已,金錢只是我們所取得成績的一個結果。」

教識新市場

2016 年,Stefano Bemer 在紐約開設了首家海外展廳。新的市場雖然帶來了新的商機,但Tommaso深知和全球知名的奢侈品大牌相比,Stefano Bemer只是小眾市場中的翹楚而已:「我無法負擔鋪天蓋地的廣告宣傳,無法買下雜誌封頁,也無法不計成本地贊助明星…..所以我們必須教育我們的客戶。」

 

這從來不關乎金錢,而是知識。Tommaso 表示:「這是一個學習的過程,人們會逐漸理解舒適的鞋不代表一定要鞋底很軟。」作為一則笑談,Tommaso說一些新客人來到店內時,為了彰顯自己的消費能力,會驕傲地對他說:「我的鞋子都是在 Ferragamo 買的。」每當這時,Tommaso 都會戲謔回應道:「為此我深表遺憾,我想我們能解決這個問題。」

 

對於Tommaso 而言,對新市場的策略始終圍繞著「種下一個『那裡有更好的選擇』這一概念給消費者。」通過溝通和教識客戶什麼才是一雙製作精良的鞋履,他希望讓那些將奢侈品牌視為最高級的東西的消費者重新審視他們的選擇。這都是關於「metti uni pulse nell’orecchio」,意為在耳朵里放入一隻虱子:「這讓你了解有另一雙鞋比你腳上這雙更好,這種想法會一直困擾著你直到你嘗試了那個更好的選擇。」

未來

Tommaso Melani

經歷了這次疫情,Tommaso 對於人生的意義有了更深的感悟:「我們需要一個使命,否則人生只是一些物質的堆砌而毫無意義。」在病毒肆虐期間,這位精力充沛的企業家又開啟了一項與時俱進的新事業——永續時尚。他這次新的冒險是創立一家命名R for People的永續時尚品牌,「理念是對於可持續給予一個非常實際又富有野心的定義。」對於時尚產業帶來的浪費和快時尚加速的環境惡化和勞工問題倍感擔憂,Tommaso 創造了一套精心設計過的消費模式,使用再循環再利用的原材料,讓消費者寄回不能再穿的球鞋和衣服並重新加工利用生產出新的產品,Tommaso希望通過年輕一代可以聽懂的語言和他們交流自己對於有道德的時尚風格的見解。

Tommaso Melani RforPeople
RforPeople

當被問到他的興趣和熱情是什麼時,Tommaso 笑起來。因為他已經在踐行他的興趣和熱情了。「我不把我所做的事情當做工作,這其實很糟糕,當你做你熱情所在的事情時,的確你不再工作了,但你也無時無刻不在為這件事勞心費力。」在他一生中,似乎一直在追求「被挑戰,走出舒適圈」。而對於人生的下一步,Tommaso 表示他希望以新的方式來挑戰他自己:「我喜歡挑戰,而我總不能一覺得悶就開一家新公司。」旅行是他考慮的新選擇:「我對於體驗總是充滿好奇。」希望體驗到不同的文化,Tommaso正考慮將南美或者南亞的某個地方作為他下一次探險的目的地。

>
error: Content is protected !!

We use cookies to tailor your experience, measure site performance. By clicking on ‘Got it’, you agree that cookies can be placed. You can view our privacy policies here.

Make your inbox in style

Style Digest, Fashion Decoding & Artisan Insight

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

AGNES SELECT MOTIF