Sergio Loro Piana
FASHION | 時尚 | STYLE ICON | 风流人物

Sergio Loro Piana – The Better Part of Valour

Share:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on tumblr
Share on email

He (Sergio) was the closest thing that the apparel industry had to Gianni Agnelli.

Nick Foulkes

It is a privilege to be able to devoutly believe in uncompromised quality. We are living in a world where a 100% cashmere Uniqlo jumper costs less than GBP 80, while on a shelf few blocks away, a Loro Piana cashmere rollneck can charge you over GBP 1500. Have you ever wondered why the price range for cashmere products can be so wide? Well, that’s the “democracy” you get when you compromise – The cost of making a cashmere jumper can drop significantly by using inferior and shorter cashmere strands and single-ply yarns. The only downside is the ensuing planned obsolescence caused by weak durability and pilling, if the potential environmental costs do not count in the algorithm.

As the sixth generation of Loro Piana, the largest cashmere manufacturer and the biggest single purchaser of the world’s finest wools, Sergio and his younger brother Pier Luigi (known as Pigi) were born with the privilege to pursue the best quality while needless to worry about the price tag. “This is luxury because if somebody can select the best cashmere and the cost doesn’t matter, that’s a big privilege”, Pier Luigi once said.

Sergio & Pier Luigi Loro Piana
Sergio (left) & Pier Luigi (right) Loro Piana

The Loro Piana family starts as merchant of wool fabrics in Trivero, Northern Italy since 1814. While the official history of the brand Loro Piana commenced in 1924 when Pietro Loro Piana moved to Quarona Sesia and opened up wool mills. In the mid-1940s, Pietro’s nephew Franco takes over the family business and starts exporting luxury fabrics to the international markets. Thanks to Franco’s global perspective, Loro Piana became the supplier to clients from Savile Row to Fashion makers. “He was open-minded and everyone, even the best couture houses in Paris such as Christian Dior and Givenchy, bought fabric from him”, Sergio said about father.

Born in Milan in 1948, Sergio Loro Piana joined the family business in the early ‘70s. In 1975, he was designated the CEO of the Loro Piana Group, together with his younger brother, Pier Luigi. Uniquely, Sergio and Pier Luigi rotated the chairmanship every three years.

the way he dresses convinces you that things aren’t put together out of etiquette, but rather a natural reflection of his core.

Sergio was both a wealthy industrialist and a patrician, debonair Italian gentleman with good taste on almost everything in life. In the office or on his sailing boat, his attire is always properly and stylishly dedicated to the occasion. In business, he’s hardly seen without the immaculately cut suits, never skip the tie, spoiled by the myriad in-house catalogue choices to demonstrate the classic Italian elegance with exquisite discretion and incredible luxury of materials. Yet the best part is – the way he dresses convinces you that things aren’t put together out of etiquette, but rather a natural reflection of his core. Like the broad-winged lapel on his Rubinacci tailored suits is not there for any sartorial splendour, but merely emanates the vision and ambition the man possessed.

With that exact vision, Sergio, together with Pier Luigi, transformed Loro Piana from a high-end weaver into the luxury house we know today by expanding into a luxury retail business, offering finished products made with the best in class raw materials. “He (Sergio) was the closest thing that the apparel industry had to Gianni Agnelli”, commended by the English writer and columnist Nick Foulkes. In fact, Sergio did follow Agnelli’s most well-known style quirk of wearing his watch over his shirtsleeve.

Dedicated to the family business since an early age, Sergio learned under his father Franco Loro Piana.

“When I was young, I spent summers working with the sales team in Paris and London – that’s where I learned to speak French and English. Other factory owners sent their kids to Australia and New Zealand to learn how to sort wool, but I think my father had a lot more insight.”

The father and son, travelling across time zones to keep the family business running: purchasing fine cashmere in Mongolia and Tasmania, and closing deals in Hong Kong. That experience paved the way to Sergio’s grand vision, and when things are under his reign, he knows he needs to go big, really big: “By 1975, our factory employed 300 people. It was big for our area but small for the world”. With decades of experience dealing with luxury Maisons, the Loro Piana brothers knew that ready-to-wear is the holy grail. Thankfully, the story didn’t go awry to the version of a wealthy textile manufacturer suddenly want to do haute couture.

Sergio Loro Piana
Sergio standing against the 『Hill House Chair』designed by Charles Rennie Mackintosh in 1903. Photo Credit: Alfa Castaldi

/

Sergio Loro Piana
Sergio standing against the 『Hill House Chair』designed by Charles Rennie Mackintosh in 1903. Photo Credit: Alfa Castaldi

With discretion, Sergio believes people who wear Loro Piana clothes should be real-life men and women, not some supermodels. Starting from satisfying demands of particular clients, who may be the King of Spain or some Hollywood celebrities, Loro Piana gradually developed their product lines and reputation through word of mouth among the international elite clientele. The products are based on the lifestyle adopted by their noble clients’ and themselves’. Explained by Sergio: “Our family is fascinated by horses, so we made a jacket for riding. We love to sail, so we made a jacket for sailing too. That’s why we don’t have a designer”. Together with his wife Luisa, Sergio would communicate with the design team directly based on their practical needs. “We are the first consumers of our products… Our customers don’t want to look fashionable: they just need to be stylish, with the best quality materials.” Sergio said. By 2013 (The year of Sergio’s pass away), they already have over 130 retail stores in the world’s most prestigious locations, 24 of them are in Japan.

Among Loro Piana’s privileged clients was Bernard Arnault, the chairman of luxury conglomerate LVMH. In 2013, he purchased 80% of Loro Piana’s shares with $2.57 billion.  Sergio was the one who brought up the deal to Bernard, and the deal was settled in merely two-week time. Sergio added only one caveat to the deal: never bring a star designer into Loro Piana, as he had seen what happened to those brands when a designer took all the spotting light.

Sergio & Pier Luigi Loro Piana
Sergio & Pier Luigi Loro Piana on their sailing boat

In ancient times, the golden fleece of the vicuña was reserved for Inca emperors. But when the Spanish colonist entered the region in the 16th century, vicuña was extensively hunted for their fur.

vicuña

Loro Piana is much more than just a trademark, the vertically integrated family business is coveted because of its access to the world’s best raw materials. Obsessed with quality without compromise, Loro Piana has the unique savoir-faire in securing the finest natural textile fibres that mankind can ever get on earth. From Baby Cashmere to Pecora Nera (black Marino wool), from the Gift of Kings (super- light wool measuring a gossamer 12 microns in diameter) to the Lotus Flower; Among them, stands the Vicuña, the most luxurious and precious fibre from nature.

Living wild at an altitude of over 4,000 metres in the Andes, vicuña belongs to the camel family, closely related to llamas. To protect itself against the harsh environment in the Andes, vicuña grows silky smooth and dense fur, the fibre of its fleece measures 12.5 microns in diameter only. The animal is revered as the ‘Queen of the Andes’ and believed by the Incas to be sacred. In ancient times, the golden fleece of the vicuna was reserved for Inca emperors. But when the Spanish colonist entered the region in the 16th century, vicuña was extensively hunted for their fur. The aggressive poaching had decimated the species, in the 1960s there are only around 5,000 left.

Although the local governors have prohibited trading vicuña’s fleece, the poaching by criminals never really stop. To prevent the precious creature from extinction, after years of negotiation with the Peruvian government, in 1994, Loro Piana finally made a deal with local authorities that allows the company exclusive permission to buy, process and exporting vicuña in the forms of textiles and finished products. Under Loro Piana’s management, vicuñas are sheared every two years from the spring onwards, “as the weather gets milder, and they are released immediately back into the wild”, explained Sergio. In 2008, The Reserva Dr Franco Loro Piana was opened, 2,000 hectares of land for wild vicuñas to habitat…

Sergio Loro Piana
Sergio Loro Piana. Credit: Alfa Castaldi

“We worked with the Peruvian government to protect the species. We pay a fair price for them. They are extremely expensive – much more expensive than the best cashmere in the world – but that’s why the vicuna has survived”, said Sergio Loro Piana.

The quality without compromise does have its price, a vicuña New Central Park Vicuña jacket can cost over 20,000 pounds, while a turtleneck in vicuña is around 6,000 GBP. For the jet-set who get used to treating themselves with the best of everything, Loro Piana is indisputably the best gift to themselves. “Sybaritic indulgence disguised as unadorned simplicity”, as Nick Foulkes puts it.

Sergio Loro Piana

Sergio Loro Piana — 意式優雅的締造者

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 pinterest
分享在 email
分享在 telegram
分享在 whatsapp

他是意大利服裝產業裡最能拿來和Gianni Agnelli媲美的人物了。

Nick Foulkes

能像信仰一樣追求不折不扣的卓越品質屬於一種優越的特權。今天的我們生活在這樣一個世界裡:一件百分百羊絨的Uniqlo針織衫只要不到港幣800蚊,而市中心幾條街區外的一排貨架上懸掛著的Loro Piana羊絨毛衣卻件件過萬。你有沒有想過同樣是標籤上寫著純羊絨的產品,為什麼價格卻天差地別?可以說,這就是在品質上有所妥協帶來的便利和“民主” – 如果使用質量較次的短羊絨纖維和單股的毛線,則生產一件羊絨衫的成本可以被顯著壓低。這樣做唯一的壞處就是由於較弱的耐久性和起毛球而導致的計劃性報廢(planned obsolescence),如果說潛在的環境成本根本不在計算之內的話。

作為全球最主要的羊絨生產商和最大的優質羊毛買家,Loro Piana家族的第六代繼承人Sergio Loro Piana 和他的弟弟Pier Luigi生來享有“追求品質而不用擔心價格吊牌”的特權。 “奢侈就是如果有人能選擇最高級的羊絨而不用考慮價格,因為這反映了他地位的優越”,Pier Luigi曾這樣說過

Sergio & Pier Luigi Loro Piana
Sergio (left) & Pier Luigi (right) Loro Piana

Loro Piana家族早在1814年便取得皇室的許可在意大利北部城鎮Trivero做起羊毛貿易。而這個家族正式作為羊毛製造商的歷史要從1924年Pietro Loro Piana遷往Quorona Sesia地區並開設羊毛工坊開始。在1940年代中期,Pietro的侄子Franco接管了家族生意並開始拓展海外市場。多虧Franco的國際眼光,Loro Piana在他的帶領下成為供應給薩維爾街和眾多時裝屋的面料商。 Sergio在談到父親時說: “他思想開放,所有人,包括像Christian Dior和Givenchy等巴黎頂尖的時裝屋都從他那裡買麵料。”

於1948年出生於米蘭,Sergio Loro Piana在70年代初期加入到家族生意裡面。 1975年他和弟弟Pier Luigi被任命為集團的CEO。非常特別的是,Sergio和Pier Luigi兩人輪流執政,每三年輪換一次帥位。

他不會讓你覺得那身打扮是為了禮儀而做的,相反,那更像是他內在的反映。

Sergio既是實力雄厚的實業家又是一位優雅且具貴族氣派的紳士,對生活中的幾乎一切事物都有極好的品味。無論在位於米蘭的辦公室裡還是在他的帆船上,一身衣裝總會根據場合得體又漂亮地搭配。生意場上,他總是一身裁剪得無可挑剔的西裝,從不省略領帶,自家品牌種類繁多的面料樣式任他挑選,而他總以低調矜持的審慎搭配和貴重的面料演繹經典的意式優雅。而最絕妙的是:他不會讓你覺得那身打扮是為了禮儀而做的,相反,那更像是他內在的反映。正如那出自Rubinacci的寬闊的駁領不是在彰顯西裝本身如何不凡,而純粹只是他軒昂氣宇和遠見卓識的外化。

正是憑著他的那種遠見,Sergio聯手Pier Luigi一起,朝著奢侈品零售業進軍,向市場提供以最頂級面料製作的成衣系列。兄弟兩以這樣的方式, 將Loro Piana從一個高端紡織品生產商轉型為我們今天所知道的奢華服飾品牌。 “他(Sergio Loro Piana)是意大利服裝產業裡最能拿來和Gianni Agnelli媲美的人物了。”英國專欄作者和作家Nick Foulkes曾這樣評論道。事實上,Sergio的確仿效了Agnelli最為著名的穿著習慣:把腕錶特意帶在襯衫袖子的外面。

從很早便決心投入家族生意,Sergio在他父親Franco Loro Piana的指引下修習。

“在年輕時,我有許多個夏天都和銷售團隊一起去巴黎和倫敦工作,過程中我學了講法語和英文。其他的工廠老闆則會把他們的孩子送去澳洲和新西蘭學習分揀羊毛,而我的父親顯然擁有更長遠的打算。”

這對父與子,為了運轉家族生意而穿梭於不同時區之間:在蒙古和塔斯馬尼亞購入羊絨,又轉去香港完成交易。這些經歷開闊了Sergio的眼界,當他開始執掌家族生意時,他已經知道他需要更大的規模:“到1975年,我們的工廠有300名員工。這在當地算是很大型的,但放在世界範圍一比就很小。” 有著數十載同奢侈品時裝屋做生意的經驗, Loro Piana兄弟知道成衣市場是他們的製勝法門。值得慶幸的是,故事並沒有就此走偏,變調為“不差錢的面料大亨突然興起涉足高級定制”的版本。

Sergio Loro Piana
Sergio standing against the 『Hill House Chair』designed by Charles Rennie Mackintosh in 1903. Photo Credit: Alfa Castaldi

/

Sergio Loro Piana
Sergio standing against the 『Hill House Chair』designed by Charles Rennie Mackintosh in 1903. Photo Credit: Alfa Castaldi

帶著審慎的判斷力,Sergio相信Loro Piana的服裝是為真實世界的男士和女士準備的,而不是少數超級名模。始於滿足熟客的某個特別需求,那位客戶常常會是西班牙國王或者某個好萊塢明星,就這樣Loro Piana逐步發展出他們的產品系列和在全球頂尖客群中的口碑。所有產品都是基於尊貴的客人們和Loro Piana家族自己的生活方式而設計的。 Sergio解釋說“我們家族喜歡馬術,所以我們打造出騎裝夾克。 我們熱愛航海,因此我們也做了航海時穿的外套。這就是我們不需要設計師(來告訴我們怎麼做)的原因。” Sergio會和妻子Luisa一起同設計團隊溝通他們實際需要哪種款式和功能的產品。 Sergio表示:“我們就是Loro Piana產品的首批使用者······我們的客戶不想被看成是走在潮流尖端:他們需要的是穿著最高品質的面料自成一格。” 到2013年為止(Sergio在那一年過世),他們已經在全球高檔街區擁有了超過130家由家族直接經營的專營店,其中日本就有24家。

在Loro Piana權貴雲集的客戶名冊中就有Bernard Arnault, 時尚寡頭LVMH的主席。在2013年,他以約25.7億美金購入了Loro Piana集團80%的股份。這次收購行動其實最先是由Sergio向Bernard提出的,各種評估和手續在短短兩週內就完成了。 Sergio只在協議中添了一項附加條件:絕不要在Loro Piana品牌內引入明星設計師。因為他看了太多那些設計師搶走所有關注度的品牌下場如何。

Sergio & Pier Luigi Loro Piana
Sergio & Pier Luigi Loro Piana on their sailing boat

在古時,駱馬毛被印加人專門貢奉王室享用。但當西班牙殖民者在16世紀來到這片土地上時,駱馬因其珍貴的皮毛而面臨被大量捕殺的厄運。

vicuña

Loro Piana 的價值遠不僅僅是一個商標那樣簡單,這盤垂直一體化的家族生意備受覬覦的原因在於他們擁有獲取世界上最優質面料的渠道。對上乘品質毫無折衷的追求,促使Loro Piana鎖定了人類能夠在自然中獲取的最精緻的紡織纖維。從小羊絨到Pecora Nera (稀有的天然黑馬利諾羊毛),從‘國王的禮物’(一種直徑僅12微米的超輕質羊毛)到Lotus Flower。在這之中屹立著駱馬毛vicuña, 自然界中最為奢華和稀有的毛料纖維。

生長在南美洲安第斯山脈海拔4000米以上的地帶,小羊駝(vicuña,又稱駱馬) 屬於駱駝家族中體型輕盈的一類,是美洲駝的近親。為對應安第斯山脈嚴酷的氣候和高寒,駱馬們長出了一身如絲綢般柔滑的皮毛,駱馬毛的纖維平均直徑僅為12.5微米。被尊崇為「安第斯山脈的皇后」,古代印加文明認為它們是神聖的存在。在古時,駱馬毛被印加人專門貢奉王室享用。但當西班牙殖民者在16世紀來到這片土地上時,駱馬因其珍貴的皮毛而面臨被大量捕殺的厄運。勢頭兇猛的偷獵幾乎將這個物種逼上絕境,到了1960年代,僅有5000只左右的駱馬還存活在這片土地上了。

雖然當地政府已經禁止駱馬毛的買賣,但偷獵行為屢禁不止。為了保護這種珍貴的物種免於滅絕,Loro Piana在和秘魯政府交涉數年後,終於,在1994年, 與當地政府達成一項協議:專許Loro Piana購買,加工和出口駱馬毛面料和成品。在他們的管理下,從春季開始,每兩年會修剪一次駱馬毛, “當氣候變得溫和時(才開始修剪活動),並且隨後就讓它們回歸野外”,Sergio解釋道。在2008年,以兩兄弟父親命名的自然保護區The Reserva Dr Franco Loro Piana 落成,2000公頃的廣闊區域成為駱馬們的棲居之地······

Sergio Loro Piana
Sergio Loro Piana. Credit: Alfa Castaldi

Sergio Loro Piana 說:“為了保護這個物種我們和秘魯政府進行合作。我們為之支付相當不菲的價格。它們極為昂貴,比全球最好的羊絨還要貴得多,但這就是駱馬存活下來的原因。”

不折衷的品質不是免費的,一件駱馬毛的 New Central Park 夾克需要超過23萬港幣,而乍看不出奇的駱馬毛高領毛衫也售價6萬以上。對於喜愛錦衣玉食的富豪們而言,Loro Piana無疑是犒賞自己的最佳選擇 — “以不加修飾的樸素粉飾極致奢華的放縱”, Nick Foulkes已經下了最好的註解。

>
error: Content is protected !!

We use cookies to tailor your experience, measure site performance. By clicking on ‘Got it’, you agree that cookies can be placed. You can view our privacy policies here.

Make your inbox in style

Style Digest, Fashion Decoding & Artisan Insight

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

AGNES SELECT MOTIF