ADVERTISEMENT | 廣告

© John Swannell / Camera Press

Hardy Amies — The Art of Forgetting What You Are Wearing

* Read in your language | 選擇文章語言

A man should look as if he had bought his clothes with intelligence, put them on with care and then forgotten all about them.

England Vivien Leigh 1958, LONDON, United Kingdom England
Mandatory Credit: Photo by AP/REX/Shutterstock (7336399a) Indian born, British actress Vivien Leigh arrives with fashion designer Hardy Amies in the foyer of the Odeon Theater at Leicester Square, London

Why are we so fussy about what to wear? Essentially, our costume serves two purposes: It makes us feel comfortable about ourselves. And it makes people surrounding us feel comfortable about themselves. The latter cause is often overlooked in the fashion system, but it plays a big part in how we choose to dress. Dressing too conspicuously posh can pose a threat to people around you. When discussing communication skills, Jim Rohn once addressed: “The first mark of civilization to be in a civilized society is the restraint of your emotion, the restraint of your words, the restraint of your power.” So it is in civilized styling, as our clothes communicate our identity and thoughts, our style should be restraint of being so striking that you blow somebody away.

For its restrained aesthetic and discreetness, the English style has long been considered the orthodox in tailoring menswear. And who can encapsulate the English way of dressing better than Sir Edwin Hardy Amies? Who once famously said: “A man should look as if he had bought his clothes with intelligence, put them on with care and then forgotten all about them.”  For most of us who genuinely enjoy fashion and style yet are naturally shy, you can perhaps relate to a situation when spending a fortune on some garments but are bothered by the self-consciousness whenever you wear them out. Making yourself comfortable both physically and mentally is crucial to achieving good style. Even I love to occasionally put on a dashing avant-garde designer piece for events and admire the flamboyance of some Italian gentlemen in the city (Florence, where I’m currently based). But, most days, I feel more comfortable dressing in a rather Londoner’s way, wearing garments made of quality fabrics in darker neutral tones with some tailoring details. Blending in on the street and never being pompous to distract anyone’s eyes.

Hardy Amies noted that “correct dressing is only another form of good manners, and good manners are only another form of mental comfort”. If we can’t master the subtle art of not giving a f*ck, it is reasonable to suggest that the art of “forgotten all about them [your outfit]” is where we should work on. In order to shrug off the uncomfortable self-consciousness, being “intelligent” about what to buy and being “caring” when putting them on is the key. Being the perfect incarnation of this dressing rule, Hardy Amies is undoubtedly the man to learn from for anyone who wishes to bring comfort to both themselves and others.

correct dressing is only another form of good manners, and good manners are only another form of mental comfort.

© John Swannell / Camera Press
© John Swannell / Camera Press

As an English fashion designer and illustrious debonair, Hardy Amies is best known for being the official couturier of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. He was the longest-serving dressmaker to the Queen from the years when she was still the Princess until his retirement in 1989. Hardy Amies’ discreetness in both design and manner contributed significantly to this long-lasting friendship with the Queen. During World War II, Amies used to serve in Winston Churchill’s secret army — the Special Operations Executive (SOE). Although he rarely talked about his military past, which is evidence of his discreetness, Amies became the head of SOE’s T-section in August 1943. He was responsible for planning and executing missions in occupied Belgium to help the local resistance to fight against Nazi Germany. He supervised the training and recruiting of secret agents to be sent to Belgium for guerrilla attacks, sabotage and propaganda under the pressure of Germany’s formidable counter-espionage system. This extraordinary military experience makes Amies a thorough thinker and planner: “In the dress-making world, I had a more tidy mind than most people do,” he told Mavis Nicholson in a 1984 interview. The training as a war officer gave him an organized mind, which enabled him to forecast trends and envisage designs for his fashion career. If you are interested in this military history, here’s a link to a documentary film about Hardy Amies’ SOE years that I found enjoyable.

In the dress-making world, I had a more tidy mind than most people do.

Military identification card issued to Lieutenant Colonel Hardy Amies in 1940.
Military identification card issued to Lieutenant Colonel Hardy Amies in 1940.

Hardy Amies has left a glorious legacy in both menswear and womenswear design. Shrewd in business, his namesake fashion house on No.14 Savile Row offered bespoke tailoring for both men and women, dressing clients from Virginia Cherrill (American actress, Gary Grant’s first wife, the main sponsor of Hardy’s business) to David Hockney and Ronald Reagan. Although considered a wonderful snob, Hardy Amies didn’t set his ambitions on serving the privileged only. He is a trailblazer offering ready-to-wear lines for men through licensing and staged the world’s first catwalk show for men’s RTW in London’s Savoy hotel. Amies attributes his achievements to his inclusiveness: “I feel that some of the success I have achieved in designing clothes for men, in a very wide market, is because I have been able to become a bridge between men of the established classes and those who shop in the High Street”, he noted. This inclusive mindset also led to the publication of the style bible ABC of Men’s Fashion (1964), which came from columns he wrote for Esquire magazine. Many of the suggestions in the book are still relevant for today’s style enthusiasts.

Hardy Amies also designs for the silver screen. He made the costume for one of the greatest sci-fi movies, 2001: A Space Odyssey by Stanley Kubrick. But even for the costume to be worn on a spaceship, Amies’ design was very restrained of being too futuristic. As Austin Mutti-Mewes, the curator of Hardy Amies Archive, explained, “He did that because he didn’t want the film to date. Amies was a great believer in the understated – he wanted clothes that worked in the city, the country and on the spaceship.” For country clothes, Amies once wittily noted that “you wore clothes that blended with the colours of the countryside so that you did not frighten the pheasants”. After all, being understated in dressing serves both the manner and the versatility, “day clothes must look equally as good at Salisbury Station and at the Ritz bar.”

There’s nothing wrong with being adventurous in style, especially at an early stage of fashion exploration. Yet your clothes should always reflect who you are. “To attain style in dress, you must look perfectly happy and relaxed in your clothes which must appear part of you rather than a wardrobe you have just donned”. A penchant for vintage style doesn’t mean one should end up looking archaic. Likewise, the love of advanced fashion doesn’t mean Rick Owens will suit your vibe. Of course, tons of self-education and subtlety is involved in the process, but that’s precisely where the fun hides. When asked what he revealed through his clothes, Hardy Amies replied, “I think I’m rather careful, and I’m a bit self-conscious. I’m not absent-minded about my clothes.”

Among numerous suggestions in his book, Hardy Amies’ advice on the subject “Care of Clothes” will always be true:

First and foremost, let your clothes rest and revive. Do not wear a suit or shoes for two days running. Both cloth and leather need time to breathe.

Take everything out of the [suits’] pockets – you should not overload them in any case. Brush it, put it on a hanger, and hang the trousers by the bottoms if you can.

The cloth needs a few hours to dry after pressing.

Keep shoes polished and on shoe trees.

Own as many hangers and shoe trees as you have garments and shoes to put on them. They will save you money in the long run.

Hardy Amies
Hardy Amies with friend
Sir Hardy Amies
Sir Hardy Amies
Model Faraday blowing Hardy Amies a kiss during champagne celebrations on the steps of his London Savile Row shop for Mr Amies' 75th Birthday Fashion Show. * 05/03/2003: Mr Amies, the Queen s dressmaker for half a century has died at the age of 93, his company said.
>
error: Content is protected !!

We use cookies to tailor your experience, measure site performance. By clicking on ‘Got it’, you agree that cookies can be placed. You can view our privacy policies here.

Make your inbox in style

Style Digest, Fashion Decoding & Artisan Insight

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

AGNES SELECT MOTIF

ADVERTISEMENT | 廣告

© John Swannell / Camera Press

Hardy Amies | 赫迪·雅曼:忘掉你的著裝

* Read in your language | 選擇文章語言

一個人應該讓人看來在選買衣服時睿智,在穿搭衣服時謹慎,然後徹底忘掉這些。

England Vivien Leigh 1958, LONDON, United Kingdom England
Mandatory Credit: Photo by AP/REX/Shutterstock (7336399a) Indian born, British actress Vivien Leigh arrives with fashion designer Hardy Amies in the foyer of the Odeon Theater at Leicester Square, London

為什麼我們要對穿著挑剔講究,為了穿什麼四處搜尋,不惜等待和花費不菲的錢財?從根本上說,我們的著裝服務了兩個目的:它讓我們對自己感到自在;同時它讓我們身邊的人感到舒服。後者雖然常常被時尚系統忽略,卻深深影響著我們對服飾的選擇。過分華麗的裝扮難免讓周圍的人感覺到壓力。在討論到溝通技巧時,吉姆·羅恩(Jim Rohn)曾說:「在一個文明社會中首要的教養得體的標誌就是對自身情緒的克制,對語言的克制,和對權力的克制。」而得體的風格誠然同理,我們的服飾作為一種溝通途徑透露出關於我們身份和觀點的諸多訊息,因此我們的風格應該有所克制,太過引人注目可是會把別人嚇跑的。

由於其內斂和謹慎的審美,英式裁剪風格一直被認為是男裝的正統派。大概沒人能比埃德溫·赫迪·雅曼爵士(Sir Edwin Hardy Amies)更傳神的概括英派穿衣方式了吧? 「一個人應該讓人看來在選買衣服時睿智,在穿搭衣服時謹慎,然後徹底忘掉這些。」對於我們大多數喜愛時尚和風格但天生害羞的人來說,你可能會對以下情況有同感:在一些衣服上花了一大筆錢,但每當穿上它們外出時就會被一種叫做「自我意識」的東西弄得渾身不自在。讓自己在身體和精神上都感到舒適對於獲得良好的風格至關重要。即使我也喜歡偶爾為活動穿上一件時髦的前衛設計師作品,並欣賞這座城市(佛羅倫薩)中一些意大利紳士瀟灑招搖的裝扮。但是,大多數時候,我覺得以倫敦人的方式穿著會更舒服,穿著由優質面料製成的偏深中性色調的衣服佐以一些剪裁細節。融入街頭巷角,決計不顯得浮誇以分散任何人的注意力。

赫迪·雅曼(Hardy Amies) 指出,「妥當的著裝只是良好舉止的另一種形式,而良好舉止不過是精神安適的另一種形式。」如果敏感的我們不能掌握不在乎的精妙藝術(有本同名暢銷書專門教你這個),那麼是否可以合理地建議「徹底忘記這些 (你的著裝)」才是努力方向。 為了擺脫讓人不自在的自我意識,關鍵是要對買什麼「睿智」並在穿上時「謹慎」。 作為這條著裝規則的完美化身,赫迪·雅曼無疑是所有希望為自己和他人帶來舒適的同仁學習的對象。

妥當的著裝只是良好舉止的另一種形式,而良好舉止不過是精神安適的另一種形式。

© John Swannell / Camera Press
© John Swannell / Camera Press

作為傑出的英國時裝設計師和風格領袖,赫迪·雅曼最為人熟知的身份是英女王伊麗莎白二世的皇室認證服裝設計師。從英女王還是公主的時代到赫迪雅曼 1989 年卸任退休,他是為女王服務時間最長的設計師。赫迪·雅曼在各方面的謹慎態度或許是他與女王之間長久友誼的原因之一。二戰期間,雅曼曾在溫斯頓·丘吉爾的秘密軍隊——特別行動執行處 (SOE) 服役。雅曼於 1943 年 8 月成為SOE中T 部門的負責人,不過他很少談論他的軍事過往,這也佐證了他的謹慎。T部門負責在被佔領的比利時計劃和執行任務,在納粹德國強大的反間諜系統的壓力下,幫助當地抵抗勢力反抗侵略者。赫迪·雅曼作為 T 部門的首腦,監督了特工的培訓和招募,這些特工被派往比利時進行游擊攻勢、通訊破壞和政治宣傳等一系列秘密活動。這段非凡的軍事經歷使雅曼成為一個高效的規劃者:「在時尚界,我的頭腦比這行業內的大多數人都更清晰」,他在 1984 年的一次電視訪談中告訴主持人瑪維斯(Mavis Nicholson)。作為一名軍官的訓練讓他有條理明晰的頭腦,這幫助他在時尚事業中預測趨勢和設計服飾。如果這段軍事歷史引起你的興趣,這裡分享一個關於赫迪·雅曼在SOE 時期的紀錄片

在時尚界,我的頭腦比這行業內的大多數人都更清晰。

Military identification card issued to Lieutenant Colonel Hardy Amies in 1940.
Military identification card issued to Lieutenant Colonel Hardy Amies in 1940.

赫迪·雅曼在男女裝設計領域都成就斐然。他頗具商業頭腦,他位於薩維爾街 14 號的同名時裝屋為男性和女性客人提供定制服務,從弗吉尼亞·謝里爾(Virginia Cherrill,美國女演員,加里·格蘭特的第一任妻子,赫迪·雅曼業務的主要贊助人)到大衛·霍克尼(David Hockney)再到羅納德·裡根(Ronald Reagan)都是他的客戶。雖然常被認為是個完美的勢利眼(snob),但赫迪·雅曼並沒有僅僅把他的視野放在為特權階層服務上。他是為男士提供成衣系列的首創者之一,並在倫敦的薩沃伊酒店舉辦了世界上首場男士成衣時裝秀。雅曼將他的成就歸功於他的包容性:「我覺得我的男裝設計系列之所以能在更廣闊的市場上取得的一些成功,是因為我能夠在權勢階級和普通人之間架起一座橋樑。」這種包容的思維也為時尚聖經 ABC of Men’s Fashion (1964) 的出版奠定了基礎,該書來自他為 Esquire 雜誌撰寫的專欄。書中的許多風格建議對於當今的時尚愛好者仍然適用。

赫迪·雅曼還為銀幕設計戲服。 當代最偉大的科幻電影之一斯坦利·庫布里克執導的《2001:太空漫遊》中的戲服就出自他的手筆。 但即使是穿在宇宙飛船上的太空服,雅曼的設計也非常克制,不會顯得過於未來主義。 正如策展人奧斯汀·穆蒂-梅維斯(Austin Mutti-Mewes )解釋的那樣:「他這樣做是因為他不想讓這部電影過時。 雅曼是低調的忠實信徒——他想要在城市、鄉村和宇宙飛船上都能穿的衣服。」對於鄉村服飾,雅曼曾詼諧地說「在鄉村時你的著裝需與鄉野的自然色彩相融合,以免驚擾了那些野雞」。 畢竟,低調的著裝既能體現出風度,又能滿足多功能性:「日常服裝必須在索爾茲伯里車站和麗茲酒吧看起來同樣出色。」

在風格上實驗和冒險無可厚非,尤其是在時尚探索的初期。 然而,你的衣服應該始終反映你是誰。 「想要在穿著上實現風格,你必須只穿讓你非常愉快和放鬆的衣服,而這服裝必須體現出你的一部分,而不是你剛剛置辦的衣櫥。」 喜歡複古風格不代表你要穿得像個穿越來的人。 同樣,喜歡暗黑風和尖端時尚也並不意味著就能撐得起Rick Owens 的設計。 當然,這個過程涉及大量的自我教育和精妙的調校,但這正是樂趣所在吧。 當被問及他通過自己的著裝顯露了什麼時,赫迪·雅曼思索答到:「我認為我是相當謹慎的,而且我頗具自我意識,可以說我對於把什麼衣服穿在身上是有所思慮的。」

在他書中的諸多規則中,赫迪·雅曼關於「衣物護理」這一主題的建議將是不朽的:

首先,讓你的衣服得到充分休息和恢復。 同一套西裝和皮鞋不要連續兩天穿著。 面料和皮革都需要時間來呼吸。

把所有物件都從 [西裝] 口袋裡取出來——絕對不要讓它們超載。 用毛刷清潔你的衣服,把它掛在衣架上,如果可以的話,褲子要褲腳朝上懸掛。

服裝在熨燙後需要閒置幾個小時去除濕氣。

鞋子要時時擦亮,放入鞋撐。

擁有盡量多的衣架和鞋撐,有多少衣服和鞋子就該有多少衣架和鞋撐。 因為長遠來看,它們會為您省下金錢。

Hardy Amies
Hardy Amies with friend
Sir Hardy Amies
Sir Hardy Amies
Model Faraday blowing Hardy Amies a kiss during champagne celebrations on the steps of his London Savile Row shop for Mr Amies' 75th Birthday Fashion Show. * 05/03/2003: Mr Amies, the Queen s dressmaker for half a century has died at the age of 93, his company said.
>
error: Content is protected !!

We use cookies to tailor your experience, measure site performance. By clicking on ‘Got it’, you agree that cookies can be placed. You can view our privacy policies here.

Make your inbox in style

Style Digest, Fashion Decoding & Artisan Insight

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

AGNES SELECT MOTIF