Mingei Cover

Genuine Crafts Told by the Father of Folk Crafts 


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on telegram
Share on whatsapp

when ordinary people can look at masterpieces as ordinary things, isn’t it a great time?

Soetsu Yanagi

On my bookshelf lays a yellow-covered The Culture of Crafts (「工藝文化」) in paperback form, the edges went fluffy, don’t remember when I bought it, but the book speaks to me from time to time. For example, when I heard people rhapsodise over a Song Dynasty Ruyao ceramic bowl that sets new record at Sotheby’s or a Ming Dynasty “chicken cup” sold for some 36 million dollars, the book whispered— “when ordinary people can look at masterpieces as ordinary things, isn’t it a great time? ” What a utopian statement, I thought. To achieve that “great time”, either all of us became affluent connoisseurs — that can never happen, or all the utensils were masterpieces — is it possible?

 

The author of this book is Soetsu Yanagi, whom I hardly heard of at first, yet I do know his son, the renowned Japanese designer Sori Yanagi, his Butterfly stool and kitchenware are revered as the epitome of good modern industrial design. Sori Yanagi said his sense of beauty came from his upbringing, where everything in the home is beautiful, and most houseguests have established artists. Sori Yanagi was grown up in a place where ugliness doesn’t exist, and it was all thanks to his father — Soetsu Yanagi, also known as the father of mingei (folk craft). 

 

Soetsu Yanagi is the trailblazer of mingei movement; he’s part of the force that brought the Shibuyi (渋い) and Wabi-Sabi (詫寂) aesthetics to the West; in 1936, he founded of Japan Folk Crafts Museum in Tokyo, which will welcome its 85th anniversary in this October.

 

Yanagi Soetsu 柳宗悅
Yanagi Soetsu 柳宗悅

Soetsu Yanagi

In 1927, when Soetsu Yanagi first published The Path of Crafts (「工藝の道」), the concept of mingei, or folk crafts, was still a piece of virgin land. Although there are plenty of books about crafts, most of them emphasise technicality and rarely reach the realm of philosophy. In the first half of the twentieth century, the wind of westernisation is blowing through Japan under the influence of the Meiji Restoration. Despite that, Yanagi’s philosophy about mingei did not adopt much of the Western opinions, he built up theories about mingei based on his intuitive insights and religiously inspired contemplations.

 

Born in a privileged and wealthy family, the young Soetsu Yanagi was awarded a silver watch by the Emperor of Japan for his merit grades. However, when studying at Tokyo Imperial University, he resents the rigid academic environment and complained in a letter to his lover, “I wish I’ll never have to step into the college again. I’m done with academies and universities!” 

 

Soetsu Yanagi straddles two cultures. He majored in Western philosophy and art at college, and later converted to Buddhism. Because of his major, Yanagi had seen many masterpieces of art, even Rodin sent over his sculpture for White Birch magazine at which Yanagi was an active member. Surprisingly, it was an ordinary blue and white porcelain from the Li Dynasty of Korea that touched his heart and propelled him into the world of folk craft. In the White Birch, he wrote: “This kind of genuine beauty is derived from Korean porcelain. I’ve never thought that in the trivial daily object that I overlooked before, could I find such extraordinary beauty of craftsmanship. And to my surprise, I discovered where my real passion lies.”

Yanagi Soetsu 柳宗悅
the young Soetsu Yanagi

Early Stage Crafts

All crafts were handicrafts in the very beginning. People in primitive tribes processed available natural materials for the basic needs of survival. When entering the farming society, a more stable way of life calls for the assistance of finer utensils; the types of handicrafts began to burgeon. Making things is easy to become a profession. The skilled craftsmen found their métier, and their work developed from a self-sufficient or part-time manner into a career. With the further specialisation of technology, to ensure the inheritance of skills and the order of production, associations such as guilds and social relationships like apprenticeship emerged accordingly.

 

In feudal times, many skilled craftsmen are sheltered by royals and aristocrats. Under the lords’ roof craftsmen can focus on producing sophisticated, and sometimes ostentatious, objects for their masters’ sybaritic indulgence without needing to worry about the cost. From the clockmaker for Louise XIV, to the Zen’ami and Nōami who serves Ashikaga Yoshimasa, to ceramist in the official kiln for Emperor KangXi, all of the official craftsmen use their consummate skills to produce the most luxurious objects regardless of the expense of time and materials. 

 

However, these artefacts are too expensive to emulate and impossible to be massively produced. So, the aristocratic crafts have no chance to benefit the people. Therefore, in the history of crafts, in parallel with aristocratic crafts exits an inconspicuous approach called folk crafts – the crafts of the people. Contrary to noble crafts, folk crafts only use cheap and accessible raw materials and are mass-produced for the daily life of ordinary people. The form and pattern of folk crafts are usually simple rather than delicate. However, it was precisely these humble handicrafts made for daily life that became the highest form of beauty in Soetsu Yanagi’s view of crafts. 

左起:濱田莊司、柳宗悅、河井寬次郎
from left to right: pottery artist shoji hamada, soetsu yanagi, pottery artist kanjiro kawai – major figures of the mingei folkart

Mingei (Folk Crafts)

Soetsu Yanagi is not a pedant, he trusts his sensibility more than any academic theory. He once said:

 

Among the talents we have lost in modern days, the most obvious one is probably our sensibility, especially the loss of the ability to observe beauty. In modern academia, we are used to categorising our knowledge into systems. As the result, most people tend to understand things abstractly, but fewer would observe things as they are. Therefore, for tangible objects, people tend to see them through the lens of concepts. After all, this is an unrealistic approach, and it shows the lack of care for crafts.

 

With his intuitive insights, Yanagi spent years in his life on field trips, investigating the miscellaneous handicrafts from various parts of Japan and Korea. In 1925, the term “mingei” (民藝) was born when Yanagi was on the way to Wakayama county to study local crafts with fellow Kanjiro Kawai and Shoji Hamada. Together they decided to coin the term “mingei”, simplified from “crafts of the people”. Based on his study, Yanagi summed up five basic characteristics of mingei:

 

1, they are objects indispensable to the daily life of ordinary people;

2, they are objects that honestly fulfil the practical purpose for which they were made;

3, they are produced in large numbers to fulfil the needs of the public;

4, they are inexpensive and have good quality;

5, they are made by craftsmen

 

As a stalwart of mingei, Naoto Fukasawa, one of the world’s most influential designers, once said: “Before Soetsu Yanagi, the society’s perception of beauty reflects the trickle-down effect and determined by the those of power and high social classes. But Yanagi did not covet those fine-art crafts. In folk crafts, a beautiful object is not made for the pursuit of artistic value. For Yanagi, those folk utensils made with spontaneous natural emotions are truly lovely and warm.”

 

 

Soetsu Yanagi divides crafts into four realms: aristocratic crafts; individual crafts; mechanical crafts; and folk crafts. Moreover, to become a genuine craft (正しい工藝), he believes there are three essential qualities for a craft to be considered genuine: one is the utility — that is, the utensil should serve the purpose; the second is sociality — the craftware should be able to benefit the people in large; the third is morality — moral craft come from honest and moral work of craftsmen. 

 

For Yanagi, aristocratic crafts and individual crafts lack sociality due to their exiguous quantities and high prices. Mechanical crafts are controlled by profit-oriented capital and tend to sacrifices quality and lack morality. While folk crafts, when protected by nature, tradition and organisation, can be useful, accessible, moral, and therefore, they should be regarded as genuine crafts.

 

The idyllic kingdom of beauty that Soetsu Yanagi depicted is a state where “ordinary people can look at masterpieces as ordinary things”, it requires all ordinary craftware to be beautiful, and Soetsu Yanagi believes it can be achieved through folk crafts. Looking back in the history, he did find the eras of blossomed folk crafts—it was before the separation of crafts and fine arts—Chinese Song Dynasty, Ming Dynasty; Goryeo and Li Dynasty of ancient Korea; Ashikaga and Tokugawa eras in Japan; as well as the Middle Ages Europe, the craftwork from these eras emanate the beauty of religious order, and their beauty is universal that transcends time and space.

Japan Mingei Museum collections

Mechanical Crafts

At that time, led by John Ruskin (1819-1900) and William Morris (1834-1896), an Arts and Crafts movement had swept European countries starting from the United Kingdom. As the first to be through the industrial revolution, production sites were moved from homes and ateliers to large-scale factories. Machine-made products had absolute advantages over handicrafts in terms of productivity and price, which decimated handicrafts in Europe. However, it is an indisputable fact that most mechanical products are inferior to handicrafts in terms of quality and aesthetics.

 

With no doubt, the development of machinery is the progress of mankind. Machinery has supplemented the fields that human force cannot reach, but it cannot replace handicrafts. For both John Ruskin and Soetsu Yanagi, what they opposed is not mechanical production itself, but the personality that is insulted and debilitated in mechanised forms of production. 

 

The meaning of work is completely different for workers operating machinery in the assembly line and for craftsmen. Machine production needs capital to drive. Without the wherewithal, normal craftsmen are excluded from the creation process of mechanical production. Therefore, The factory owner, or capitalists, get the power to decide what products to manufacture and what styles to adopt. Capitalists are not interested in any production process that cannot maximise profits. Therefore, the quality and beauty of the product cannot be guaranteed; the market will eventually be flooded with inferior utensils. At the same time, the dominative relationship between humans and machines has been reversed in mechanical production. The workers in the factory suffer the fate of being dominated by machinery. They cannot creatively engage in the production process because their work is only to assist the machine to repeats the lifeless action.

Mingei magazine pages

Labour with Pleasure

This kind of mechanical production entails two repercussions: First, work is no longer accompanied by joy. Except for some slight cheerfulness on the payday, workers cannot feel satisfaction or fulfilment in the oppressive working condition; Second, the workers no longer bears the responsibility of making products. Workers in the factory do not full-heartedly care about product quality. The inherent nature of machinery determines its product to be “cold, lacking warmth and imagination”, which, as Yanagi believes, caused the lack of beauty in machine-made goods.

 

Aiming to retrieve the decadence of beauty during the Industrial Revolution, John Ruskin, one of the most influential British writers, painters, and social critics at the time, made his theory of beauty emphasise morality. He advocates creative labour and the pleasure of work. What distinguishes creative labour from manual labour is that the creative labour is engaged in producing something either that the worker wants to produce or he/she feels relation to in the cause of the production, or that he/she feels it’s in some way expressing some part of his/her skills and that of himself/herself. Inspired by Ruskin, Yanagi was emphatic that the beauty of crafts lays in moral society: “A society where money and power compel most men to labour without pleasure, with mercenary capitalism, and selfish individualism, is irreconcilable with the beauty of crafts”.

 

Crafts Organisation and Guild

The genuine craft is the epitome of a genuine era, to improve crafts, we must first improve our society.

Soetsu Yanagi

André Maurois said: 

 

Using the events and characters in Proust’s In Research of Lost Years to illustrate the characteristics of the writer, the level of absurdity will be no less than saying that Renoir was a man who painted women, children, and flowers. Renoir became Renoir not because he painted these models, but because he put all models in some kind of iridescent dappled light. 

 

Likewise, it would be equivalently absurd to attempting to summarise Soetsu Yanagi’s view on crafts merely through the objects displayed in the Folk Crafts Museum. For Yanagi’s mingei, the iridescent light that imparts magic to ordinary objects is the cooperative social group — the Crafts Organisation. 

 

“Craft issue is not a personal issue. The correct craft calls for the correct society”, said Yanagi. Fundamentally, in Soetsu Yanagi’s mind, the beauty of folk crafts is not about artistic preeminence but organised society. What he sees in the beautiful ordinary crafts is not the individualistic artistic expression or the consummate skills of specific artists, but the harmonious and cooperative social life and the honest hard-working masses. Since mingei is “not a matter of the individual working alone”, but “a collaborative effort by many craftsmen”, it requires order and systematic, legitimate organisation.

 

Yanagi points out two streams of power that have protected craftsmen since ancient times: one is tradition; the other is organisation. In a well-balanced society, the power of tradition and organisation can play a role in supporting the craftsmen to produce ethical works. Because craftsmen are usually poor and weak as individuals, they are of lower social status, neither well-educated nor having the awareness of artistic beauty, the quality of their work reflects society’s general perception of beauty. With heritage and tradition, the wisdom of the past generations become the solid technical support for craftsmen. Meanwhile, a systematic organisation can band the craftsmen together. Without the support and guidance of a well-designed organisation, craftsmen are venerable to the risk of losing the integrity of their work. “It is only by coming together as a group that individually weak artisans can become a force to be reckoned with”, said Yanagi. Moreover, Yanagi added, “this organisation should not be ruled by a hierarchical authority as heretofore. Neither should it be ruled by mere profit and loss.”

 

The craft organisation depicted by Soetsu Yanagi is inspired by the association that prevailed in medieval Europe – guild. There are merchant guilds and craft guilds. A craft guild is a workgroup formed by craftsmen in a specific trade based on common interests, it’s composed of masters; journeymen; apprentices; and other administrative personnel like inspectors and wardens. Guilds were also prospered in ancient China. Although Chinese guilds incline to emphasise blood ties, and the rules and regulations are also different from those in Europe, the road of promotion from apprentice to master is equally strenuous. In the medieval guild, a young person would only be accepted by the guild as an apprentice after a thorough background check and a period of probation. For the first couple of years, the apprentice is responsible for running errands for the master while receiving some basic training. It usually takes five to seven years if not longer for an apprentice to be qualified as a journeyman. Not until they become journeymen, can they begin to work by the side of masters and be able to learn some core technics and skills. As the name implies, the journeyman needs to spend two or three years travelling in different cities and training under different masters. To be considered as a candidate for the master, they also have to meet various technical, moral and economic prerequisites. Through this kind of apprenticeship, traditions and technologies get inherited. Today, there are only a few guilds still exist in France and Germany. For example, the renowned French shoemaker Pierre Corthay was an apprentice in a long-standing guild called Les Compagnons du Devoir. The guild provided him with the opportunities to refine his craft under different masters for about six years.

 

Altruism is one of the core values of the guild. Each guild has strict quality control and regulations on production steps. The members of the guild are bounded by brotherhood and striving for collective interests. To ensure the interests of all guild members, craftsmen are not allowed to sell excess stock to customers, as it will detract from the interests of other craftsmen fellows. To prevent overcapacity, masters would also limit the number of craftsmen by deliberately militate against the advancement process.

 

The cloth guilds in Paris can trackback to 1278. In the middle of the 13th century, there were about 100 guilds in Paris. By the 14th century, the number exceeded 300. From hatters guild to carpenters guild, from bakers guild to weavers guild. Guilds emerged from the dynamic city life, their operation ensured the medieval city to run smoothly. In addition to their economic and administrative functions, guilds are also responsible for certain religious and political activities. The prosperity of guilds reflected the flourishing city life. Whereas the demise of the guild was considered by Yanagi an indictment of the decadence of craftsmanship.

 

Marx sees guilds as an organisation that pursues not “exchange value” but “value in use.” The craftsmen in the guild are independent personal labours. The level of their skills determines the presentation of the product, and they “work for themselves.” As a part of city life, the meaning of work for guild members is not solely about getting paid, but also a religious mission that echoes the requirements of God. Craftsmen acquire pleasure in their creative work. Under the guidance of tradition, their moral work transforms raw materials into utensils that support the operation of the city.

 

With the influx of free capital and the prevalence of commercialism, the decadence of monopolistic guilds begins as early as the fifteenth century. The moribund guilds echo the languished medieval social structures and values. Although guilds are anachronistic for modern days, the beauty of order, the moral work, and the collaborative spirit that the guild demonstrated are never irrelevant. As Yanagi said: “In the future, healthy crafts can only be realised in a healthy new society, the genuine craft is the epitome of a genuine era, to improve crafts, we must first improve our society.” An onerous task indeed.

>
error: Content is protected !!

We use cookies to tailor your experience, measure site performance. By clicking on ‘Got it’, you agree that cookies can be placed. You can view our privacy policies here.

Make your inbox in style

Style Digest, Fashion Decoding & Artisan Insight

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

AGNES SELECT MOTIF

Mingei Cover

柳宗悅看工藝

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 pinterest
分享在 email
分享在 telegram
分享在 whatsapp

當任何平凡的民眾都把卓越的作品視為平易之作時,難道不是偉大的時代嗎?

柳宗悅

家中的書架上有本黃色軟封的《工藝文化》,時不時會被拎出來翻幾次,側面起了毛邊,不記得什麼時候買的,偏偏書的內容讓我時常想起。比如聽人對著「一盞價值連城的雞缸杯」,或是「一隻拍出2.6 億的北宋汝窯碗碟」的報導仰望興歎時,這書裡的一句話就會蹦出來:「當任何平凡的民眾都把卓越的作品視為平易之作時,難道不是偉大的時代嗎?」我暗覺這句話太過烏托邦,要想實現那樣的時代,要麼須得人人都是懂審美的富翁——這顯然不可能;要麼須得件件作品都是卓越的佳作——這種時代有過嗎?

 

書作者叫柳宗悅,我最早是沒耳聞的,反而對他兒子柳宗理以前就知道。柳宗理是日本近代享譽國際的工業設計師,他設計的蝴蝶椅和餐具很出名,曾代表日本主持接待了柯比意(Le Corbusier)的傑出後生夏洛特·佩里安(Charlotte Perriand)在日本的考察訪問。柳宗理曾在受訪時說自己的品味養成主要是因為自小看到家中的器物都是美的,往來的客人長輩也都是赫赫有名的工藝家,他是在沒有丑的環境裡成長的,而這都要歸功於他的父親——人稱日本民藝之父的柳宗悅。

 

柳宗悅為人熟知主要是因為他寫了許多被翻譯成各國語言的民藝論文和書籍,將東方的美學傳遞到歐美,更在東京的目黑區建了座日本民藝館。今年十月恰逢民藝館建立八十五週年,謹以此文致敬或許「太過烏托邦」的柳宗悅先生。

Yanagi Soetsu 柳宗悅
Yanagi Soetsu 柳宗悅

柳宗悅

民藝的概念在昭和二年(1927 )柳宗悅寫 《工藝之道》時還是一塊處女地,雖然工藝的書籍從來不少,但大多偏重技術性,很少談到工藝哲理。明治維新剛過不久,在二十世紀前半葉那個忙著「脫亞入歐」日本,柳宗悅的工藝觀點卻並沒有過多採用歐美國家的立場,而是憑藉一己之力開闢了獨有的道路。

 

柳宗悅(下文或簡稱「柳」)出生優越,聰明善学,從小入貴族學校,因為成績優異獲日本天皇賜銀表,考入東京帝國大學主修西方哲學藝術,後又研究起東方佛教文化。大學時因為不喜歡刻板的學術氣氛,柳在和戀人的通信中抱怨:「我再也不想踏入大學了,我想永遠與書院和大學斷絕關係!」因為研究西方藝術,柳宗悅見識過許多藝術珍品,包括羅丹為他參與的《白樺》雜誌寄來的雕塑,然而真的打動他的卻是一件普普通通來自朝鮮李朝的青花瓷器,他在《白樺》雜誌裡寫道:「這種至真至善的美,乃得自於朝鮮瓷器。我從未想到過,在一向不為我所重視的日常瑣碎事物中,居然也有這般超俗的工藝之美,更想不到竟由此發現了自己真正的興趣之所在。」

Yanagi Soetsu 柳宗悅
青年時期的柳宗悅

早期的工藝

最初,所有的工藝都是手工藝。原始部落中人們為了生存的基本需要而對手邊的自然材料進行簡單加工。進入到農耕社會後,更穩定的生活呼喚著更複雜的器物,於是手工藝的品類逐漸豐富起來。而從事器物製作是很容易成為職業的,巧者與拙者的分化令手工業者從自給自足或半工半農的狀態發展成為職業匠人。由於技術的進一步專業化,為了保證技藝的傳承和生產的秩序,像行會和師徒制這樣的團體組織和社會關係關係因應而生。

 

在漫長的封建時期,王室貴族為貧弱的工匠們提供庇護,匠人得以心無旁騖地製作用料奢侈,工藝繁複的貴族工藝品供上流社會使用或賞玩。從路易十四御用的鐘錶師,到足利義政身邊的阿彌眾,再到康熙皇帝治下官窯的能工巧匠,無不是極盡工巧之能事,不計用料和工時,製作出與權貴們身份地位相匹配的珍品。然而這些器物都是難以被複製的瑰寶,絕無可能傳播到民間惠及老百姓。於是,在工藝史中,和貴族工藝並行著一條並不耀眼的民眾工藝之路。和貴族的工藝相反,民眾的工藝只選擇便宜易得的材料,為了百姓生活實用而大量生產,紋樣造型則沒有什麼繁複的精細雕琢,單純卻也健壯。然而,恰恰是這些不起眼的為了民眾生活而作的雜器,成為了柳宗悅一生信仰的美之目標。

左起:濱田莊司、柳宗悅、河井寬次郎
左起:濱田莊司、柳宗悅、河井寬次郎

民藝

柳宗悅不是一個老學究,比起厚厚的理論文獻他更信賴自己的直觀感受:

 

「近代我們所喪失的才能中,最為明顯的大概就是直觀力了吧,特別是失去了對美的觀察能力。近代的學術中有將知識系統化的方法,所以理解抽象的『事』的人比較多,而觀察具體的『物』的人則比較少。因此,對於有形的物品,動不動就用概念去套。總之,這還是缺乏對工藝的關心,也是不太現實的。」

 

憑著對美的直觀力,柳宗悅一生花費大量時間進行民藝行腳,考察了日本各地,朝鮮乃至中國的手工藝,「民藝」一詞正是誕生於柳宗悅同陶藝家好友河井寬次郎、濱田庄司等人在一九二五年去和歌山縣考察當地工藝的途中,他們一致決定創造「民藝」一詞,簡化自「民眾的工藝」。在觀察了各地的諸多手工藝後,柳宗悅總結出民藝的五個基礎特點:

 

一、為了一般民眾的生活而製作的器物;

二、以實用為第一目的而製作的;

三、為了滿足眾多的需要而大量準備的;

四、生產的宗旨是價廉物美;

五、作者都是匠人。

 

作為民藝的擁躉,MUJI的設計總顧問深澤直人曾說:「在柳宗悅之前,社會對於美的理解是權力和階層決定一切,但柳先生不追求那些被稱作藝術品的工藝品。而且民間做一個美的器皿不是為了追求藝術價值,所以柳氏會覺得那些付諸自然情感而製造的民間器具才是可愛、溫暖的。」

 

柳宗悅將工藝分為四個部分:貴族工藝,個人工藝,機械工藝,以及民眾的工藝。而若要成為正宗的工藝,則需要具備三種特質:一是實用性,即器物應該服務於用途;二是社會性,即器物應該能夠惠及民眾;三是道德性,道德的器物需要工匠忠實的,精密的工作。貴族工藝和個人工藝因為量少價高而缺乏普及到民眾中的社會性;機械工藝則因為被利益至上的資本控制所以經常犧牲品質而缺乏道德性;而那些受到自然、傳統和組織庇護的民藝則具備了這三種品質,可以視為健全和正宗的工藝。

 

開篇說過,柳宗悅所描繪的烏托邦需要「件件作品都是卓越的佳作」,而回顧歷史,他確實看到了讓民藝健全發展的時代——那是一個存在於工藝和美術尚未分家的綜合時代——中國宋代,明代的器物,古朝鮮高麗和李朝的器物,日本足利和德川時代的器物,以及歐洲中世紀的器物都體現出被信仰所約束的秩序之美和超越時空的普遍之美,是柳氏眼中正宗的工藝。

日本民藝館藏品

機械工藝

彼時,以英國為中心已經興起了一場影響深遠的藝術與工藝運動(Arts and Crafts movement),領軍人物是約翰·拉斯金(John Ruskin, 1819 – 1900)和威廉·莫里斯(William Morris, 1834 – 1896)。當時的英國正率先經歷著產業革命,生產場所被從家庭和小工坊轉移到了大規模的工廠中,機械製品在產量和價格方面相比手工藝品具有絕對的優勢,這對歐洲的手工藝造成摧毀性的打擊。然而,大多數機械產品在器質和美感方面比手工藝低劣也是不爭的事實。

 

不可否認,機械的發展是人類的進步,機械補足了人力所未能及的領域,卻無法取代手工藝。無論是拉斯金還是柳宗悅,他們所反對的都不是機械生產本身,而是在這種生產方式中被傷害與侮辱的人格。因為,工作的意義對於在流水線操作機械的工人和對於手工藝匠人是截然不同的。

 

機械生產需要資本推動,買機器租廠房顯然不是普通工匠可以負擔的,於是生產的決定權從匠人手中轉移到資本家手中,製造什麼產品,採用什麼風格都是由資本家和受僱的設計師來決定的,工人不參與創作。而資本家不會對任何不能使利潤最大化的生產過程感興趣,產品的品質和美感因此無從保障,最終使得粗劣的器物充斥市場。同時,人與工具的主從關係在機械生產中被顛倒了,工廠中的工人忍受著被機械支配的命運,他們無法將自己的智慧加諸於製作過程中,因為他們的工作僅僅是輔助巨大的機械重複了無生機的動作。

《民藝》雜誌內頁

工作的愉悅感

這樣的機械生產造成兩種難以迴避的後果:首先,「勞動不再伴有喜悅」,工人在僵化的工作過程中不能產生滿足感和成就感,除了領薪水時那一點高興;其次,他們的勞動也「不再負擔製作器物的責任」,工人對產品的品質並不發自內心的在意。機械的本質決定了產物是「冷淡的,缺少溫暖和聯想性」,機械工藝美感的缺乏正是由此而來。

 

為了對抗產業革命中美的失落,作為當時英國最有影響力的作家、畫家,和社會批判家,拉斯金(John Ruskin)的美之理论注重美与善的结合,他認為工作必須是富有創造性的和能產生愉悅感的。受到拉斯金的啟發,柳宗悅亦強調工藝應該具備的道德性:「不允許有勞動喜悅的金錢權利社會,只知利慾的資本主義制度,從小我出發的個人主義,與工藝之美是完全不相容的。」

協會團體 | 行會

正宗的工藝本身就是正確時代的縮影,要提高工藝的水準就必須先提高社會的水準。

柳宗悅

在為《追憶似水年華》作序時,安德烈·莫羅亞曾說:「用普魯斯特書裡的事件和人物來說明這位作家的特點,其荒謬程度將不亞於把雷諾阿(Pierre-Auguste Renoir)說成是一個畫過婦女、兒童、花卉的人。雷諾阿之所以成為雷諾阿,並非因為他畫了這些模特兒,而是因為他把任何模特兒都擺在某種虹彩一般絢麗的光線之中。」同樣的道理,民藝館中的那些藏品也不足以概括柳宗悅的工藝觀。如果把柳宗悅比作雷諾阿,那麼雷諾阿筆下的模特兒們就是各式民藝器物,而為畫作注入靈魂的光就是柳宗悅所提倡的一種超越個人和私慾的社會關係——協會團體。

 

從根本上說,柳宗悅眼中的工藝之美不是美術性的,而是社會性的。他在美的尋常器物中看見的不是某個藝匠的個人意志和精妙的絕技,而是安平祥和的社會生活和勤勞樸實的眾生。

 

所以柳宗悅說:「工藝並非個人問題,正確的工藝呼喚著正確的社會。」他看到了兩種自古以來就保護著匠人們的力量:一是傳統;二是組織。在協會團體中,傳統和組織的力量得以發揮作用,扶持著匠人們製作出正宗的工藝。因為匠人作為個體通常是貧弱的,他們教育程度不高,並不具備藝術家的美之意識,而且往往社會地位低下,所以他們所製作的器物的好壞,更多是外在環境的反應。在傳統中,歷代人的智慧得以累計傳承,從而使得工作獲得堅實的技術支持。而合理的組織則能將匠人們團結在一起,心無掛礙地出色完成工作。如果沒有組織的支持和指引,工匠們很容易被資本壓榨和而墮入痛苦的工作,對產品也喪失責任感。因此,柳宗悅推崇讓工匠們在「協會團體」中互相扶持著前進。

 

柳宗悅提倡的團體源於一種在中世紀歐洲常見的經濟形態——行會(Guild,又譯作「基爾特」)。行會分為商人行會和匠人行會,匠人行會是某個專門行業的匠人基於共同利益而形成的工作團體,主要由師傅、熟手、學徒和一些行政人員組成。中國古代也興行會,但更偏重血緣關係,在組織規則上和歐洲的亦不盡相同,不過從學徒到熟手的晉升之路是一樣充滿艱辛的。中世紀行會規定,從入門打雜的學徒到可以參與製作過程的熟手需要數年的時間,熟手再通過雲遊修習以及達到其他德行和經濟上的標準後可被選拔為師傅,在這樣的晉升體系中傳統技術得以沿襲。今天,在法國和德國仍有個別行會延續下來,像是法國製鞋大師Pierre Corthay的少年時代正是在一家歷史悠久的行會Les Compagnons du Devoir當學徒,行會為他提供機會在五、六年的時間內拜在不同製鞋大師的門下精進技藝。

 

集體意識是行會的核心價值之一,各個行會對生產步驟和產品品質都有嚴格的規定,行會中的成員以兄弟相稱,是利益共同體。為了保證所有成員的利益,在行會的規定中,匠人可以接受客戶的訂單,但不可以把多餘的現貨賣給其他人,因為這會減損其他工匠的利益。為了防止產能過剩,師傅也會有意限制學徒晉升為熟手的數量。

 

歷史悠久的行會是中世紀城市生活的產物,巴黎的布料行會始於 1278 年,在十三世紀中期巴黎大約有一百個行會,到了十四世紀行會的數目就超過三百個,除了作為組織城內所有商業、 手工業活動的經濟和行政工具外,行會還肩負了一定的宗教和政治職能,它的運轉保證了城市生活的有序進行,行會的繁榮側面體現出當時城市生活的繁榮。而行會的衰落則被柳宗悅認為與工藝的頹廢並行。

 

馬克思認為,和受商業資本支配的機械生產不同,行會追求的不是「交換價值」,而是「使用價值」。行會中的匠人作為獨力的個人勞動者(independent personal labor),他們自身的技藝決定了產品的呈現,是「為自己而工作」。作為城市生活的一環,行會中匠人的工作不只是為了糊口和取得收入,更是一種帶有宗教信仰意味的使命,是呼應上帝的要求。匠人在創造性的工作中獲得快樂,在傳統的指導下熟練地將原材料變為支持城市運轉的器物,他們手上的工作對團體和城市負有義務,同時也因為工作而對城市充滿歸屬感。這種工作狀態在現代社會看來幾乎是難以想象的吧。

 

柳宗悅描繪的「協會團體」是他從手工時代的歷史中汲取靈感所作的理想藍圖,行會中一些陳舊的規則在如今利潤至上和個人主義盛行的文化中更像是無足之鳥,難以落地。可惜柳氏對於協會團體如何在商業社會中發展沒有提供更加細緻的看法,在他早期作品中甚至提出放棄資本主義制度,這顯然是難以實現的。面對資本流入和商業主義盛行,行會早在十五世紀就已經顯露頹勢,但行會中的秩序之美和互助的團體思維仍然能為今後的工藝之路提供借鑒。正如柳宗悅所說:「健康的未來之工藝只能建立在健康的新社會之中。正宗的工藝本身就是正確時代的縮影,要提高工藝的水準就必須先提高社會的水準。」只是,這位民藝之父啟發後世去思考的課題不可謂不艱巨。

>
error: Content is protected !!

We use cookies to tailor your experience, measure site performance. By clicking on ‘Got it’, you agree that cookies can be placed. You can view our privacy policies here.

Make your inbox in style

Style Digest, Fashion Decoding & Artisan Insight

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

AGNES SELECT MOTIF