ADVERTISEMENT | 廣告

Jean-Michel Basquiat

Sophisticated Nonchalance | Basquiat’s Style

* Read in your language | 選擇文章語言

Now, 33 years after Jean-Michel Basquiat’s passing away, the new-expressionist prodigy’s influence in the realm of fashion and pop culture is only getting more prominent. 

A few days ago, Big Bang’s T.O.P was seen seating with Yusaku Maesawa, the high-profile Japanese entrepreneur, in front of a large-scale Basquiat’s Untitled (1982) that Maesawa sold at Phillips last night (May 18th, 2022) for $85,000,000. Maesawa is also the owner of the most expensive Basquiat painting that he acquired from Sotheby’s in 2017 for a record-breaking 110.5 million dollars. Alongside Maesawa, Bernard Arnault, CEO of LVMH, is also an astute collector of Basquiat. In 2021, after acquiring Tiffany & Company, LVMH controversially used a rare Basquiat painting “Equals Pi” to promote the jeweller’s new campaign. Jay-Z was also featured in that Tiffany campaign, he is also a Basquiat collector and used to dress like Basquiat at a Halloween party. Among the millennials, K-pop group Pentagon had a song titled “Basquiat” with lyrics goes like: “We will be a new Basquiat”. And fashion influencer Luka Sabbat also got his style inspired by Jean-Michel to be featured in GQ Spain. 

He dressed in the most expensive clothes with paint all over them. Constantly. Most of the time he wore Comme des Garçons, with loads and loads of paint, and also loads of joint burns……

凱倫·賓斯(Karen Binns)
Jean-Michel Basquiat 巴斯奇亞
Jean-Michel Basquiat Photography: Richard Corman

What Artists Wear Can Be A Tool

For Jean-Michel Basquiat, people’s interest in him is not limited to his artworks, but also to his personal style. “What artists wear can be a tool in their practice. Their clothing can tell of their desire for another mode of living or, sometimes, their conscious subscription to the status quo”, said Charlie Porter, author of What Artists Wear. Basquiat’s intuitional approach to his artwork echoes the way he dresses. While expressing himself on the canvas, Basquiat’s wardrobe also plays a role in shouting out messages.

JEAN-MICHEL BASQUIAT IN HIS STUDIO IMAGE- © LIZZIE HIMMEL ARTWORK- © THE ESTATE OF JEAN-MICHEL BASQUIAT : ADAGP, PARIS AND DACS, LONDON 2020.
Image: Lizzie Himmel Artwork ©

Basquiat is known for wearing designer labels like Armani as his workwear while doing paintings. Karen Binns, Jean-Michel’s friend and a stylist, recalled: 

 

He dressed in the most expensive clothes with paint all over them. Constantly. Most of the time he wore Comme des Garçons, with loads and loads of paint, and also loads of joint burns……The shirt would be twisted round, a scarf would be thrown from somewhere else. It was the most natural look that I’ve ever seen.

Madonna and Jean-Michel Basquiat
Madonna and Jean-Michel Basquiat

Sophisticated Nonchalance 

Basquiat’s approach to fashion, especially the way he stained those expensive clothes with paint, can leave people with the impression that he does not care how he looks. However, That carefree attitude, in the essence, is a sophisticated nonchalance driven by Basquiat’s subtle expression of a rebellion against the system while craving recognition from it. 

Born in an upper-middle-class family, the environment of Jean-Michel’s upbringing was quite bourgeois. At age of 15, as Jean-Michel’s relationship with his father deteriorated, he decided to move out of home and live a bohemian lifestyle on the street of New York. Downtown Manhattan in the late 70s was a magnet for creative people, along with criminals, homeless people and prostitutes. Basquiat started to hang out with milieus including Madonna, Keith Haring, and Debbie Harry. Actually, at that time, there are hundreds of young artists gathered in downtown Manhattan, they were into myriad disciplines from modern dance to fashion design. That dynamic art scene with plenty of young artists communicating, experimenting, and secretly competing with each other was called “Downtown 500”. Perhaps that’s when Basquiat picked up his fashion sense. 

Jefferey Deitch, the art dealer and curator who was close to Basquiat since his earlier years once commented: “He was blessed with astonishing sophistication, as a teenager, he understands exactly where to position himself, at age 18, he was already at the absolute epicentre of the most advanced music, art in the world.” The creative energy in early 80’s New York was unbridled, among the other hundreds of artists, Basquiat stood out. In 1981, by the age of 21, Basquiat has already completed his transformation from a graffiti street artist to a gallery artist, and his work had already been exhibited internationally winning global attention from Zurich to Tokyo.

 

In Feb 1985, at the epic of his meteoric career, the 24-year-old Jean-Michel got on the cover of New York Times Magazine. In that cover photo, he was smartly dressed in a striped suit and tie, but not wearing shoes. There’s an anecdote that the editor of the magazine had sent the photographer back and forth many times to persuade Basquiat to put shoes on, they even called his art dealer Mary Boone for that particular request, but ended up with that iconic Basquiat portrait in bare feet.

 

He (Basquiat) had a great taste and a great eye for quality in all different fields.

布鲁诺·比绍夫贝尔格(Bruno Bischofberger)

Style and Shadow

“He (Basquiat) had a great taste and a great eye for quality in all different fields”, said Bruno Bischofberger, the Swiss art dealer. His friends remembered him being a gourmet with all the expensive Champaigns and Caviar in the fridge. Even before he was rich and famous, he would spend all the allowance from his art dealer Annina Nosei to buy expensive groceries and croissants from Dean & DeLuca.

Jean-Michel Basquiat in Issey Miyake 1983Photography © Yutaka Sakano
Jean-Michel Basquiat in Issey Miyake 1983Photography © Yutaka Sakano

In 1981, while the young Jean-Michel is taken New York by storm, Kawakubo and Yamamoto made their first debut in Paris Fashion Week and swept the fashion system with asymmetrical cuttings, black fabric, and Avant guard concepts. Jean-Michel was usually spotted wearing a geometric Issey Miyake optical in archive photos, and a great proportion of his wardrobe was composed of Comme des Garçons and Yohji Yamamoto. In 1987, Kawakubo Rei invited Basquiat to model for Comme des Garçons fashion show in Paris. He agreed: “I spend a hundred grand a year in that shop anyway”, Basquiat said to Binns.

 

As an artist, Basquiat is highly observant of the sociocultural environment. In his oeuvre, he repeatedly used the signs of copyright and trademarks that reflect capitalistic values, together with text and images alluding a diverse political, historical and social events. And of course, the hypersensitive black artist also pinpointed the race issue in his works. Irrefutably, there is a dichotomy between the way Jean-Michel was embraced in the art society and the way he was treated in the world outside the bubble.

You know why nobody is taking us? It’s because I’m black.

让-米歇尔·巴斯奎特(Jean-Michel Basquiat)
Jean-Michel Basquiat and Andy Warhol, Taxi, 45th/Broadway (Circa 1984-85). Courtesy Sotheby’s.
Jean-Michel Basquiat and Andy Warhol, Taxi, 45th/Broadway (Circa 1984-85). Courtesy Sotheby’s.

In an old article about Basquiat written by Anthony Haden-Guest in 1988, art collector Maggie Bult shared a fantastic story of her night out with Basquiat:

 

The party Bianca Jagger’s birthday party ) was at Nell’s. “As soon as we walked in, he became very paranoid”…Within five minutes, Basquiat was whisking her off for dinner at Barbetta’s. “He was greeted very ceremoniously,” Bult says. “So we sat there, and he ordered only the best of the best. Champagne, and baby lamb, and on, and on. Poor thing! The bill was over $300. He loved to spend, but he shouldn’t have been spending that sort of money.” It was almost, she feels as if he felt guilty.

 

The way he shopped was extravagant, and the way he ordered only the finest food in the finest restaurant was epicurean, but no one would know to what extent Jean-Michel’s excessive shopping manner was aimed to earn homage from that biased society. Ironically, no matter how much he spends with luxury retailers, he can’t get a taxi on the street of New York. Bult remembered that night after dinner, “Several (taxies) went by, two of the drivers were black, but nobody would take him. Jean-Michel turned to me and said, You know why nobody is taking us? It’s because I’m black. Can you get a taxi?” Bult swiftly got a taxi. She remembered what Basquiat was wearing that night standing by the street: “a floppy black suit from Yohji Yamamoto, an open white shirt, a straight-brimmed black hat.” 

Jean-Michel Basquiat in Issey Miyake 1983Photography © Yutaka Sakano
Jean-Michel Basquiat in Issey Miyake 1983Photography © Yutaka Sakano
>
error: Content is protected !!

We use cookies to tailor your experience, measure site performance. By clicking on ‘Got it’, you agree that cookies can be placed. You can view our privacy policies here.

Make your inbox in style

Style Digest, Fashion Decoding & Artisan Insight

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

AGNES SELECT MOTIF

ADVERTISEMENT | 廣告

Jean-Michel Basquiat

高超的隨意 | 巴斯奇亞的風格

* Read in your language | 選擇文章語言

在距離這位新表現主義藝術神童去世 33 年後的今天,尚-米謝·巴斯奇亞在時尚和潮流文化中的影響力只增不減:

Big Bang 的 T.O.P 和日本名企業家前澤友作上週在一面巨幅巴斯奇亞 (Basquiat) 的無題(1982)畫作前暢談, 隨後這幅畫在前天(5 月 18 日,2022)的Phillips 拍賣中以八千五百萬美金的價格成交。前澤也是全球最昂貴的一副巴斯奇亞畫作的擁有者,由他在 2017 年蘇富比拍賣會以 1 億 1 千萬美金購入。和前澤一樣,路威酩軒集團 (LVMH)的贝尔纳·阿尔诺(Bernard Arnalt)也是巴斯奇亞的藏家,在去年收購了珠寶品牌Tiffany之後,LVMH 頗具爭議性地用了一副巴斯奇亞藍色背景的畫作“Equals Pi” 來宣傳 Tiffany 的新系列。在宣傳大片中Jay-Z也和Equals Pi 一起出現在畫面中,Jay-Z 曾在萬聖節打扮成巴斯奇亞的樣子,更在rap歌詞中提到自己的巴斯奇亞收藏。在千禧一代中,韓團 Pantagon 的一首歌曲名就叫 Basquiat, 歌詞唱著 “We will be a new Basquiat (我們會成為新的巴斯奇亞)”。新一代潮流達人 Luka Sabbat也曾在西班牙版 GQ 中以巴斯奇亞的造型出現。

他總是穿著最昂貴的衣服把顏料弄得滿身都是。大部分時候他穿 Comme des Garçons, 衣服上面覆蓋著顏料,還有許多抽大麻煙時燒出的破洞······

凱倫·賓斯(Karen Binns)
Jean-Michel Basquiat 巴斯奇亞
Jean-Michel Basquiat Photography: Richard Corman

藝術家的穿著也可以是一種溝通工具

人們對於尚-米榭·巴斯奇亞的興趣不僅限於他的藝術畫作,也包括他的時尚品味。“藝術家的服裝也可以是他們自我表達的工具。他們的衣著透露出他們對另一種生活狀態的渴望,或者是對於現狀有意識地關注”, What Artists Wear (藝術家穿什麼)的作者查理·波特曾說。 巴斯奇亞直覺性的創作方式和他對造型的態度如出一轍。除了在畫布上放縱表達,巴斯奇亞的衣著也在叫囂著他的態度。

JEAN-MICHEL BASQUIAT IN HIS STUDIO IMAGE- © LIZZIE HIMMEL ARTWORK- © THE ESTATE OF JEAN-MICHEL BASQUIAT : ADAGP, PARIS AND DACS, LONDON 2020.
Image: Lizzie Himmel Artwork ©

巴斯奇亞最為人樂道的風格特色就是他會在作畫過程中穿著阿瑪尼(Armani)的西裝,把設計師大牌當做可以隨意弄髒的工作服來穿。他的造型師友人凱倫·賓斯(Karen Binns)回憶道:

 

他總是穿著最昂貴的衣服把顏料弄得滿身都是。大部分時候他穿 Comme des Garçons, 衣服上面覆蓋著顏料,還有許多抽大麻煙時燒出的破洞······ 他的襯衫會扭成一團,圍巾胡亂甩向一邊。那是我見過最自然的造型。

Madonna and Jean-Michel Basquiat
Madonna and Jean-Michel Basquiat

高超的隨意

巴斯奇亞對時尚的態度,特別是他把昂貴的衣服弄滿顏料污垢的做派,會給人一種他對自己的形象毫不在乎的印象。然而,這種不在意從根本上說是一種有意識的高超的隨意,這源於他對社會體系抱有的反叛情緒的微妙表達,但與此同時又極度渴望體系的認可。

出生在一個較為富裕的上層中產階級家庭,尚-米榭的成長環境在經濟上是舒適的。直到他 15 歲時,因為和父親的關係急轉直下,尚-米榭決定流浪紐約街頭過著一種波西米亞式的生活。在 70 年代晚期的曼哈頓城中心是一個魚龍混雜的地方,這裡不只是各類藝術家和創意工作者的大熔爐,也不乏罪犯,流浪漢和性交易者。而這一時期的巴斯奇亞,和麥當娜 (Madonna),凱斯·哈林 (Keith Haring), 黛比·哈利(Debbie Harry)一眾被稱為 “Downtown 500” —— 那是由數百位各類年輕藝術家在曼哈頓城中心匯聚的文化景象,他們中有玩樂隊的,有舞台劇演員,有畫家,還有時裝設計師等等。他們彼此交流創意,也暗自較勁。或許,巴斯奇亞的時尚觸覺就是在那時形成的。

在巴斯奇亞發跡時就發現他的畫商和策展人傑弗瑞·迪奇(Jefferey Deitch)曾評價巴斯奇亞:“他具有一種驚人的文化修養天賦,還是青少年的他已經完全知道該如何自處,在18歲時,他已經將自己置身於當時全世界最先鋒的音樂和藝術的中心。”  80 年代初期紐約的創意能量肆無忌憚,在其他數百位藝術家中,巴斯奇亞脫穎而出。 1981 年,剛剛 21 歲的巴斯奇亞已經成功從街頭藝術家轉型為畫廊藝術家,他的作品在世界各地展出,從蘇黎世到東京,收穫了全球的關注。

 

1985年2月,在他流星般璀璨生涯的高峰期,24 歲的尚-米榭登上了紐約時報雜誌的封面。在封頁照中,他身穿條紋西裝打著領帶,腳下卻沒穿鞋子。據說當時的雜誌編輯派了攝影師幾次前往巴斯奇亞的工作室希望拍到他穿上鞋子的照片,甚至為了這個小細節專門打電話給他當時的畫商瑪麗·博恩(Mary Boone),但最終讓這期封面成為經典的,正是赤腳的巴斯奇亞。

他對於许多領域的事物都有良好的品味和敏銳的洞察力。

布魯諾·比紹夫貝爾格(Bruno Bischofberger)

風格和陰影

布魯諾·比紹夫貝爾格(Bruno Bischofberger) 曾评价巴斯奇亞说:“他對於许多領域的事物都有良好的品味和敏銳的洞察力。” 他的朋友們記得他的冰箱中總是塞滿名貴的香檳和魚子醬。即使在他還未成名時,他也會把畫商安妮娜·諾希(Annina Nosei)給他的生活費花在昂貴的食品百貨店和 Dean & DeLuca 的可頌上面。

Jean-Michel Basquiat in Issey Miyake 1983Photography © Yutaka Sakano
Jean-Michel Basquiat in Issey Miyake 1983Photography © Yutaka Sakano

1981 年,正當年輕的尚·米榭風靡紐約藝術圈時,川久保玲和山本耀司正憑藉他們各自在巴黎時裝周的首秀以不對稱剪裁,暗黑色調和先鋒概念席捲時尚界。尚-米榭他衣櫥中相當一部分的服裝都來自 Comme des Garçons 和 Yohji Yamamoto,他戴著三宅一生(Issay Miyake)幾何線條墨鏡的照片也時常被引用。1987 年,川久保玲邀請巴斯奇亞去巴黎為她的新一季時裝周走秀。巴斯奇亞同意了,“反正我每年也要在他們的商店花上十萬美金”,他對朋友賓斯(Keren Binns)說。

 

作為藝術家,巴斯奇亞對身處的社會文化環境是高度敏銳的。他的作品中会反復出現版權和商標之类體現資本體系的符號,還有許多指向各種政治,歷史和文化事件的文字和圖畫。敏感如巴斯奇亚,他在作品中也指出當時美國社會的種族問題。無可辯駁,尚-米榭在藝術圈中享有的待遇對比他在現實社會中受到的對待是有天壤之別的。

你知道為什麼沒車願意停下嗎?因為我是一個黑人。

尚-米榭·巴斯奇亞(Jean-Michel Basquiat)
Jean-Michel Basquiat and Andy Warhol, Taxi, 45th/Broadway (Circa 1984-85). Courtesy Sotheby’s.
Jean-Michel Basquiat and Andy Warhol, Taxi, 45th/Broadway (Circa 1984-85). Courtesy Sotheby’s.

安東尼·霍登-格斯特 (Anthony Haden-Guest)1988 年为名利場雜誌撰写一篇文章中,藝術收藏家瑪吉·布爾特(Maggie Bult)分享了她和巴斯奇亞有一晚共同外出的經歷:

 

派對(Bianca Jagger的生日派對)是在夜店Nell’s舉行的。 “我們一走進去,他就變得很偏執”……不到五分鐘,巴斯奇亞就拉著她閃去 Barbetta’s  意大利高級餐廳吃飯了。 “他受到了餐厅非常隆重的歡迎,” 布爾特說。 “接著我們落座,他只點最好的。 香檳,小羊羔肉等等。 真夸张! 一頓晚餐的賬單超過 300 美元。 他喜歡花錢,但他不應該花那麼多錢。” 她覺得他幾乎像是覺得虧欠似的。

 

尚-米榭的确揮金如土,對美食的追求也極盡享樂,但沒人知道,他在多大程度上是為了在那個充滿歧視的社會中得到認可而花錢的。諷刺的是,無論他在高档商铺買了多少名品,在紐約街頭卻沒有一輛的士願意為他停下。布爾特回憶著那晚她和巴斯奇亞吃完晚餐後的情景:“很多輛的士呼嘯而過,其中還有兩個黑人司機,但沒人願意載他。尚 -米榭回過頭對我說:你知道為什麼沒車願意停下嗎?因為我是一個黑人。你能來叫輛車嗎?” 布爾特很順利地攔到一輛的士。她記得那晚站在街邊的巴斯奇亞的穿著:“一件剪裁寬鬆的黑色Yohji Yamamoto(山本耀司)外套, 一件開襟白襯衫,一頂直檐的黑色礼帽。”

Jean-Michel Basquiat in Issey Miyake 1983Photography © Yutaka Sakano
Jean-Michel Basquiat in Issey Miyake 1983Photography © Yutaka Sakano
>
error: Content is protected !!

We use cookies to tailor your experience, measure site performance. By clicking on ‘Got it’, you agree that cookies can be placed. You can view our privacy policies here.

Make your inbox in style

Style Digest, Fashion Decoding & Artisan Insight

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

AGNES SELECT MOTIF