An artisanal luxury media by AGNES SELECT

Search
Close this search box.

Iganatious Joseph’s Journey to the East

Article Language · 文章語言

Mr Ignatious Joseph is a menswear veteran and entrepreneur who have been attending Pitti Uomo for over two decades with his signature red shoes and impeccable classic style with his own “twist”. After many years in the international hospitality business, Ignatious Joseph decided to pursue his passion for elegant menswear and established his shirt company Ign. Joseph more than two decades ago. A group of small and medium-sized artisanal enterprises in Italy are selected by Mr Joseph to make his ideal shirt, labouring at the junctions of craft and quality materials.

 

Born in Sri Lanka and based in Dusseldorf-Germany, Joseph is a globe trotter who travels between the West and the East constantly. Just returning from his latest journey to India, Mr Joseph shared with Agnes Select his thoughts about this journey to the East and his secret about travelling in style.

Journey to the East

Words: Iganatious Joseph

There are roads, lanes, and ways that take any attentive, ambitious or simply curious person by air, land or sea to the reaches, both far and near. The journey to the East or to the West begins in the soul and follows the sun or the stars. Every voyage only enriches when the spirit is free to absorb the lessons of movement from the familiar to the unfamiliar, thereby making it familiar, too. Perhaps it is a cliché that one has to travel afar to learn what is home.

After more than three decades of discovery, beginning in hospitality and arriving at the haberdashery, I launched my bark—in fact, I just got a plane ticket—and set sail—in fact, I slept most of the trip—to begin my re-exploration of the Middle, the space between silk and linen, between the fabric of my birthplace and the stitching that shaped my profession.

 

In the 16th century, a troupe of marvellous characters with a variety of talents and weaknesses combined to seek the essential wisdom of the West. Although they did not have Italy in mind, I undertook my own journey to the West, which brought me from the subcontinent guarded by the Alps and back to the continental landmass south of the Himalayas. Like those adventurers Wu Cheng’en described, I found myself in the most fantastic and curious situations.

 

On the one hand, I was searching for the sources of style, the sincerity of artisanal labour capable of creating and sustaining my desire for effortless elegance. On the other, there was the more mundane pilgrimage for the best curries in the vast Indian Union. I confess that I am not a conventionally religious man. However, it is impossible to travel from Mumbai to Chennai and be oblivious to the gods and faiths that drive everyday life. So in Mumbai, I kneeled before the kitchen gods and the deities responsible for the safety and well-being of those around me. 

The railroad was certainly not as miraculous as the flight of the Monkey King. However, the railroads were a remarkable link between the state’s complements, the tuk-tuks and rickshas that conveyed me from door to door and hotel to temple.

From Goa—where the Portuguese traces are still found, if well diluted, to Tamil Nadu, the centre of the Tamil culture that so strongly influenced my native land across the Palk Strait, to its capital, Chennai, I wandered on wheels rather than by foot. Everywhere I found mysteries I could not have penetrated in the short time available.

 

My journey to the East was as inspirational as that journey to the West—Wu Cheng’en’s and mine. I discovered that the source of style is always a relationship to where the sun also rises.

7 Questions about Traveling in Style

1. How do you pack your luggage for warm and humid destinations?

The first rule is to keep your kit to the minimum. Carrying also generates more sweat, and that means more changes. The great problem with hot and humid is that the heat doesn’t dry. Only air circulation will do. So don’t pack too much and leave lots of space for things to “breathe”.

2. What's the essential piece you must bring when travelling?

Common sense. It does not come in a jar, screw-top bottle or online. Paying attention to one’s real surroundings and not those little hand-held screens is also enormously helpful.

3. The colour palette of your wardrobe is rather vivid. How do you master the combinations, and do you always feel fearless in adopting bright and high-contrast colours for your look?

Most of the “South”, except perhaps a few places overrun by missionaries in the last two centuries, have always combined colours and patterns. Sometimes these had ritual or iconic aspects. However, they were not burdened by our religious and military uniformity. Objectively, conflicts arise in the West because of overdressing. If all you wear is a sarong or a sari, then there is little competition. Someone trying to combine shirt, tie, trousers, and jacket has far more work. Ultimately the solution starts with knowing for whom one is dressing and where one is.

4. What inspires you the most about this journey to India?

Five hundred years ago, India and China were the centres of the world economy. When I was growing up, Ceylon and India were colonial backwaters. Now I see what must have been the power of this country in the past. When giants wake…

5. India is known for its textile industry; do you find any style inspiration on the street?

I find style inspiration everywhere. Not every inspiration leads to creation. There is style everywhere in India for those who look.

6. While always been captured dressing in Western tailoring pieces, how do you balance the culture of your roots in the tailoring context?

By staying fit. I watch what I eat and drink and walk a lot. Staying trim means my tailors can work more easily when fitting my ideas into fine clothing.

7. What is your secret to travelling in style?

Discretion, discretion, discretion.

>

We use cookies to tailor your experience, measure site performance. By clicking on ‘Got it’, you agree that cookies can be placed. You can view our privacy policies here.

Make your inbox in style

Style Digest, Fashion Decoding & Artisan Insight

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

An artisanal luxury media by AGNES SELECT

搜尋
Close this search box.

Iganatious Joseph的印度之旅

Article Language · 文章語言

Ignatious Joseph 是男裝界的資深人士和企業家,在參加男裝盛會Pitti Uomo 的二十多年來,他總是身著標誌性的紅色皮鞋演繹有著他強烈個人特色的經典風格。在國際酒店業工作多年後,Ignatious Joseph 決定追求他對優雅男裝的熱情,並在二十多年前創立了他的襯衫公司 Ign.  Joseph。精選一批中小型的意大利手工工坊來製作他理想中的襯衫。

Joseph出生於斯里蘭卡,現居德國杜塞爾多夫,是一位經常穿梭於西方和東方之間的環球旅行家。上周剛從他最近的印度之旅歸來,Joseph 先生就與 Agnes Select 分享了他對這次東方之旅的心得以及在旅行中保持風度的秘訣。

東方之旅

撰文:Iganatious Joseph

那些大路,小巷和航道將雄心勃勃的探險家或抱著尋覓之心的旅人從空中、陸地或海上引至他們或遠或近的目的地。向東或向西的旅程都是從靈魂開始的,跟隨太陽或星辰。使每段旅行得以豐富的必要條件是無所拘束的心境,它使我們在異國他鄉吸收和學習旅程中的智慧,並最終把陌生的地方變得熟悉。正如老話說的,遠行知故鄉。

經過 30 多年的探索,從酒店業到男裝業,我揚帆——也就是說剛剛拿到一張機票——然後啟航——雖然我在旅途中多數時間都在睡覺——開始我印度的再發現之旅,這是一片在絲綢和亞麻之間,在來自我出生地斯里蘭卡的面料和塑造我職業的意大利縫紉之間的地域。

成書與十六世紀的《西遊記》描繪了一群各具神通的奇葩人物聯合起來尋求西方精華智慧的故事。雖然意大利不在他們的目的地之中,但我還是踏上了自己的西遊之旅,而今又從阿爾卑斯山守護的次大陸回到了這片喜馬拉雅山南方的土地上。就像吳承恩描述的那些取經的冒險家一樣,我發現自己處於充滿精彩和妙趣的境地。

 

一方面,我在尋找風格的源泉,我對優雅風格的追求在這些忠實勤懇的工匠手中得以實現和延續。另一方面,在廣袤的印度土地上,有更接地氣的朝聖之旅,那就是尋找最美味的咖哩。我承認我不是傳統意義上的宗教信徒。然而,從孟買到金奈的一路上如何能而忘記負責守護日常生活的眾神和信仰。所以在孟買,我跪拜在灶神和那些負責人們安全和福祉的神靈面前。

鐵路交通肯定沒有孫悟空騰雲駕霧那麼神奇。然而,鐵路是連接這個國家各個部件的非凡紐帶,配合嘟嘟車和人力車將我從酒店帶到寺廟,從一個目的地帶往下一個目的地。

 

從果阿——那裡仍然可以找到葡萄牙文化融合的踪跡,到泰米爾納德邦——泰米爾文化的中心,它與我橫跨保克海峽的祖國(斯里蘭卡)有著密切的連結,再到它的首府金奈,我坐在車輪上游歷了這些地方。路上的每一處我都感受到無法在走馬觀花的一撇間洞悉的奧秘底蘊。

 

我的東方之旅和吳承恩筆下的西遊之旅一樣充滿啟示。我發現風格的來源總是與太陽升起的地方有關。

熱帶風格旅行 7 問:

1. 去炎熱潮濕的目的地旅行時你如何打包行李?

第一條守則是帶盡可能少的行李。攜帶沉重的行李會導致出汗,而出汗意味著你要更頻繁的更換衣服。濕熱的天氣讓衣服很難幹。要保持空氣暢通。所以不要打包太多行李,留出足夠的「呼吸」空間是非常必要的。

2. 對你來說旅行中的必備品是什麼?

旅行中最必須的是「常識」。你不能把常識裝在罐子裡,也無法在網上搜索到。因此留心觀察你周圍的環境而不是盯著手機是非常有幫助的。

3. 你衣櫥的色彩十分明艷。你是如何駕馭色彩搭配的?似乎你對於穿上明豔的色彩毫無畏懼。

大多數「南方」地帶,除了過去兩個世紀被傳教士佔領的少數地方外,一直習於融合顏色和圖案。有時這些與宗教儀式或標誌有關。然而,這種色彩的運用並不局限於我們的宗教和軍事。客觀來講,西方在著裝上的衝突正是因為服裝的冗雜。如果你只穿Sarong 莎籠(馬來西亞人和印度尼西亞人裹在腰或胸以下的長條布,男女均穿)或Sari莎麗(南亞婦女裹在身上的長巾),那麼搭配就輕鬆多了。而試圖將襯衫、領帶、西褲和夾克全部搭配起來的人們顯然工作更為繁重。根本上,解決方案是首先要了解為了見誰而穿,其次是穿著的場合。

4. 此次印度之旅給你最大感觸是什麼?

五百年前,印度和中國是世界經濟的中心。在我成長的過程中,錫蘭和印度都是被殖民的一灘死水。而如今我似乎看到了巨人的覺醒,那種能量我想一定來自古老的過去。

5. 印度以紡織業聞名, 你在街上找到任何風格靈感嗎?

我到處都能找到風格靈感。並非每一個靈感都會引至創造。對於那些喜歡觀察的人來說,印度到處都有風格。

6. 雖然總是被拍到穿著西式剪裁單品,但您如何在西裝語境下平衡您的根基文化?

通過保持健康。我注意自己的飲食,經常走路。保持體態意味著我的裁縫們可以更輕鬆地將我的想法融入精美的服裝中。

7. 你旅行的風格秘訣是什麼?

審慎,審慎,審慎。

>

We use cookies to tailor your experience, measure site performance. By clicking on ‘Got it’, you agree that cookies can be placed. You can view our privacy policies here.

Make your inbox in style

Style Digest, Fashion Decoding & Artisan Insight

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy.