An artisanal luxury media by AGNES SELECT

Search
Close this search box.

Interview with Kantaro Nakagomi | Creative Director of COHÉRENCE

Article Language · 文章語言

“I cannot divide the fabric making, pattern making, design, production, and selling. For me, everything is integral. I can enjoy every process.”
Cohérence

Don’t be a clothing geek. At the same time, it’s always important not to think in a short-term manner because that will make your core weak.

A special thanks to Miss Marcella for making this interview happen.

Cohérence overcoats are considered the best ready-to-wear overcoat in the world by many sartorial connoisseurs. Looking at any Cohérence piece, the pronounced volume with the luxurious drape of fabrics is usually the first impression you will get. The coat models are implicitly named after some of the iconic artists in the 20th century, including Albert Camus, Le Corbusier, Leonardo Fujita, and Pablo Picasso. While drawing inspiration from the past that imparts a nostalgic and romantic feeling to the design, the garments are always equipped with the latest Japanese textile technology for the functionality and wearing experience.

In the past couple of years, Cohérene has attracted global attention yet remains mysterious for its low-profile operation. During Pitti Uomo 103, Agnes Select had a chance to meet Kantaro Nakagomi san, the Creative Director of Cohérence, to talk about his journey of establishing Cohérence, and his lifestyle as a creative director.

I never consider myself as “I work in fashion”, simply focusing on making well-made products.

A (Agnes Select) : You majored in textile design at college and studied cutting and sewing from a Neapolitan-style tailor in Japan, but from which point did you decide you wanted to be a designer of garments?

K (Kantaro Nakagomi) : Maybe it’s because my family background is full of culture. My parents love movies and arts, my father was a professional bass player before marriage, and my mother is a Kimono instructor, teaching people how to wear it. You know obi?

(An obi (帯) is a belt of varying size and shape worn with traditional Japanese clothing and uniforms for Japanese martial arts styles.)

Just for that obi, there are many methods to tie it, and it varies by age and occasion… At the same time, my mother is also an instructor for hand-knitting. And my grandmother from my father’s side is an artist of paper dolls working with washi (Japanese paper). Her works were sold at Expo in Japan. That’s why I cultivated my interest in clothing very naturally.

A: So, when you were young, you first got into fashion, I guess?

K: Maybe my first memory about clothing was a hoody. I chose it by myself when I was 7 or 8, wearing a buckets hat with that.

A: That is streetwear, though.

K: Yes, in the meantime, I ride on a BMX cycle.

A: I feel Japanese fashion back then was much influenced by American workwear and the Preppy style. You also have Yohji Yamamoto and Kawakubo Rei rising in the 80s.

K: Yes, depending on the period and history. For example, after WWII, we get much influenced by the United States because we were occupied by the U.S., and that’s why many younger generations from the 1960s and 1970s were so focused on the U.S. style. During the ’80s, economically, Japan became very strong. In the same period, Yohji Yamamoto, Comme des Garçons, and Issey Miyaki appeared at the end of the ’70s.

A: Did you get influenced by those trends?

K: Honestly speaking, not so much. Even I’m working in the garment industry. I don’t have the experience of being stuck with this designer or that designer. But, of course, they are very good. But my preference is slightly different. For me, Cohérence is not a fashion label: We simply like to produce well-made products, and I hope, finally, they will be the next vintage. Of course, each kind of item reflects the breath of the moment, which is part of fashion, but at the same time, I never consider myself as “I work in fashion”, simply focusing on making well-made products.

A: I understand that now, but when I was growing my taste, at the very beginning, I got influenced a lot by Japanese streetwear brands, like Nigo’s Bape, Undercover, or Master Mind Japan. Then, later on, I was attracted to Kawakubo’s dark designs. Gradually it evolves.

K: I was already stuck with this kind of artist or philosopher in my childhood. Even though when I was a child, I didn’t think of the general type of fashion people as very cool. So… my preference always focuses on real people, real outwear. So, that’s why I am not interested in the designer collection. But, of course, I enjoy seeing it. For example, Martin Margiela is one the biggest exploding influence of power because Antwerp Six happened when I was an art university student. That’s why most of my generation is much influenced by that kind of creation, perhaps Dries van Noten. But as always, I don’t do fashion. I do garments. But for me, Margiela is one of the game changers. He made his own game board inside our industry. That’s why I respect him. Maybe Coco Chanel was the first person of that kind of game-changing. And after that, maybe Rei Kawakubo is a game-changer. Yves Saint Laurent is also a game changer because he brought masculine outfits to women. But after Rei Kawakubo, from my point of view, only Martin Margiela is a real game-changer.

A: What Martin Margiela did, in many ways, is very conceptual. It is very different from what you are doing. Because you start from textile, and what he creates is a mind game, it’s a new way to perceive a piece of garment.

K: Similar with Marcel Duchamp. After Marcel Duchamp, the way of art is completely changed.

A: That’s why you name your coats with nicknames of Marcel Duchamp (MUTT) to honour his influence on culture.

My silhouette is very full and broad, but at the same, it came from the reason for the existence of an overcoat: First of all, it has to protect you from the wind and dust from the outside. Also, the big hemline provides resistance from the rain to your shoes.

K: Yes.

A: But meanwhile, although the idea is to pay tribute to some game-changers, the garments you created are very traditional, permanent and classic.

K: Yes. Because due to my inspiration and my mindset about the overcoat, my preference for the silhouette and appearance is very full, glamorous and general.

A: That generous silhouette is your core idea that won’t change.

K: Yeah. Sometimes, some people talk of my collection as oversized. Of course, I can understand some fashion items are designed as oversized. My silhouette is very full and broad, but at the same, it came from the reason for the existence of an overcoat:

 

First of all, it has to protect you from the wind and dust from the outside. Also, the big hemline provides resistance from the rain to your shoes. So, that silhouette belongs to the original functionality of the overcoat. That’s why I always consider my coats the medium fit for an overcoat.

A: One thing that distinguishes Cohérence from other brands is your know-how about textiles. For only Jersey fabric, you have many types of Jerseys, all weave in different methods with different yarns. What’s your creative process like? Do you start with the fabric creation, or do you start with the look design?

K: There are several processes I have. For example, for the Melton Jersey, first of all, I found the newest Japanese knitting machine. At the same time, I had an idea to make my coat with the Melton type of fabric. However, my Melton, with my aesthetic, if it was a woven fabric, it’s going to be very thick and heavy. Because I know about the technical side that yarn for woven fabric and yarn for knitting fabric is very different. So, in the case of the Cohérence Melton Jersey, my point of view is we would like to keep the original aesthetic of the Melton, which is very heavy and thick, which results in a very clean silhouette. But, at the same time, I would like to put in a little spice of the latest technology. As a result, we get a slightly lighter weight, feel slightly stretchable, and feel slightly more comfortable while keeping the old aesthetic of the old Melton. This is the one type of process of product development we went through.

A: In this approach, you start from the fabric first. You want to innovate the Melton fabric. So, when you finish developing the fabric, you then decide which model to use this fabric?

K: First, the image of a new model, new fabric, and new accessories exist in me separately, but finally, I draw the string to connect them. This (way of thinking) came from a very Japanese culture. As you know, we are using Chinese characters, but we have different Hiragana (平假名) characters, and Katakana (片假名) characters only for foreign languages, so we always use them in a combined manner. In our way of thinking, we capture Kanji (漢字; Chinese character) in our left brain as a picture, and we capture Hiragana and Katakana in our right brain as a sound or something. So, as a natural-born Japanese, I’m used to using both parts of my brain, even when I’m just reading some simple words.

 

A: I see.

K: As I mentioned, I had experience working with a European label brand from the U.K., so I had to move around Europe as a designer and for production control. During that period, I had to go to factories in Italy, Netherlands, Austria, and Turkey… and I found that having the resources of Japanese production was quite lucky for me. Because if I’d like to make my own yarn, I can make it in a much smaller quantity in Japan compared with making it in other countries.

 

And in the same time, garment designers and textile designers are working in a completely divided way. That’s why even the garment designer suggests precisely a textile. The textile maker can arrange it in a different way. As a Japanese working in Japan, I have much more flexibility with a small quantity if I want to make an exclusive fabric in Japan. That’s why when I started Cohérence, it automatically meant made in Japan but sold worldwide. I’m in a position where I have to maximise the potential of my Japanese production background. That’s why I’m very lucky because I already know about fabric making.

I cannot divide the fabric making, pattern making, design, production, and selling. For me, everything is integral. I can enjoy every process.

A: You have expertise in both the textile side of product development and the design side.

K: Yes. And also, the total flow of garment making is a very integral process. That’s why I cannot divide the fabric making, pattern making, design, production, and selling. For me, everything is integral. I can enjoy every process. That’s why everything is naturally combined together inside me.

A: Many of your inspirations from your archive are people from the early 20th century. Like people your coats are named after, from Picasso to Corbusier, they are 20th-century figures. Which period is your favourite in terms of style and culture?

K: Regarding the silhouette, my favourite is the 1910s and 1920s.

A: The Jazz Age.

K: The Jazz Age is my favourite. I love Jazz.

A: Miles Davis?

K: Yes, I tried to play the trumpet in my childhood. Of course, Miles Davis is one of my favourites, and Django Reinhardt — a guitar player of French swing jazz during WWII. That’s why I joined the band, together with my friend, one of them is a tailor, one is the owner of the jazz café, and one is a bespoke hatmaker.

A: That’s an Artisan’s band, indeed. Do you like the 1920s jazz age in Europe or the U.S.?

K: Europe, in Paris. Because the feeling of that period is very Cohérence. Because many of the artists, all around the world, are gathering in Paris. For example, in the movement of Dada and Surrealists, accidentally or coincidentally, many artists who existed in the same period gathered together in Paris and made a big wave. That kind of feeling is very Cohérence for me.

A: Who is your favourite artist.

K: There are many. I respect Marcel Duchamp as a game-changer. But one of my favourites of all time is Caravaggio. And also Francisco Goya. After that, Leonardo Fujita is much loved by me. And in the modern period, Joseph Beuys.

A: In your previous interviews, you mentioned some modern designers like Achille Castiglioni.

achille-castiglioni
Achille Castiglioni

My item works as a medium to share the interest of the culture and to enjoy wearing it for its functionality.

K: Yes, Castiglioni is my all-time idol. Also, Gio Ponti, and Carlo Scarpa. Of course, as a furniture designer, I like Wagner from Denmark.

 

Most people think modern design and minimalism are too cold. But the design of Castiglioni always belongs to the past, and every piece, with his twist, joke, or ironic smile like a kid, has a warm touch. That’s my favourite.

A: What kind of customers do you have in mind when you design your collections?

K: I don’t have a specific client in mind; I just want my items to enjoy their life with each client inside their wardrobe. And hopefully, survive in their next life as vintage for the future. From another point of view, my item works as a medium to share the interest of the culture and to enjoy wearing it for its functionality. Simply, I want to share this romantic feeling about the overcoat with our clients as Cohérence.

A: Finally, please give young designers some suggestions, or what is the most important quality a Creative Director should possess.

 

K: First, it’s important to cultivate deeply in your field of interest, but at the same time, don’t forget to hold an open mind to different cultures. For example, I love clothing so much, and I’m a customer of bespoke suits maker, but at the same time, I love films, music, and books, every kind of culture. Don’t be a clothing geek. At the same time, it’s always important not to think in a short-term manner because that will make your core weak. Don’t think this season I need to do this number of per cent more sales, because in that way you’ll be chasing a short-term goal, you will be empty inside, if your search for short success, you won’t have the time and opportunity to get in deep of things. So, you have to build your core.

 

My interest in film, music and books naturally set up characters of mine, and that’s why I can enjoy it even in the field of business. Some young people would ask me: What kind of thing do I have to learn to become a designer? I always suggest to them: If you are interested in movies, go for it. You naturally have an interest in books. Go for that. The most important thing is, even if only one thing you are interested in other than garment or fashion, go for it. I have one interesting example, one of my friends and college school mates, he majored in industrial design, but at the same time, he is a huge fan of professional baseball in Japan, and he ultimately became a uniform designer for many professional baseball teams in Japan, which he never expected. Basically, baseball is just his hobby, but he is a master of that field, and that’s why he naturally focuses on that. And funny enough, he also works as a voice actor in cartoons. The hobbies became his real business.

>

We use cookies to tailor your experience, measure site performance. By clicking on ‘Got it’, you agree that cookies can be placed. You can view our privacy policies here.

Make your inbox in style

Style Digest, Fashion Decoding & Artisan Insight

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

An artisanal luxury media by AGNES SELECT

搜尋
Close this search box.

採訪COHÉRENCE創意總監Kantaro Nakagomi

Article Language · 文章語言

「我不能把布料製作、打版、設計、生產和銷售分開。 對我而言,這些都是一個整體。 我可以享受每一個過程。」
Cohérence

不要只是當個服裝的呆子。 與此同時,不要只看短線也很重要,因為那會讓你的核心變得薄弱。

特別鳴謝 Marcella女士幫助此次訪談順利進行。

Cohérence 是一個專注於大衣的日本品牌,他們的大衣系列被許多鑑賞家認為是世界上最好的成衣外套。 縱觀Cohérence 的系列,奢華的面料垂墜帶來的餘裕空間感給人留下強烈的印象。 Cohérence的設計靈感來自 20 世紀一些標誌性藝術家的著裝,包括阿爾伯特·加繆、勒·柯布西耶、藤田嗣治和巴勃羅·畢加索。每款外套亦含蓄地以每位藝術家的別稱或中名來進行命名。從歷史中汲取靈感賦予了 Cohérenced的設計懷舊感和浪漫,同時搭配日本最先端的紡織技術,以提供功能性和優越的穿著體驗。

過去數年間,Cohérene 已經引起了全球業內的關注,但其低調的運作讓品牌頗具神秘感。一月中旬,Agnes Select 有幸會見了 Cohérence 的創意總監 Kantaro Nakagomi (中込憲太郎),他和我們談論了創立 Cohérence 的歷程,他作為一位創意總監的生活方式,在訪談的最後,憲太郎更分享了他對年輕設計師的建議。

對我來說,Cohérence 不是一個時尚品牌。 我們只是專注於製作精良的產品,我希望它們最終能延續成為下一個年代的古著。

A(Agnes Select):你大學時的專業是紡織設計,之後在日本跟隨那不勒斯風格的裁縫學習剪裁和縫紉,但你是從什麼時候決定要成為一名服裝設計師的?

K (Kantaro Nakagomi):也許是因為我出生的家庭充滿了文化氛圍,我的父母都熱愛電影和藝術。我的父親在婚前是一名專業的貝斯手,我的母親則是一名和服老師,教導人們如何穿著和服。 你知道Obi (帶)嗎?

 

(Obi(帯)是一條不同大小和形狀的腰帶,搭配日本傳統服裝和日本武術風格的製服穿戴。)

 

僅僅是那一條腰帶就有許許多多種係法,根據時代和場合而異……同時,我母親還是手工編織的老師。 而我父方的祖母是一位和紙人偶藝術家, 她的作品曾在日本世博會上出售。 因此我從小就很自然地培養了對服裝的興趣。

A:或許你小時候最初接觸的服裝是時尚品牌吧?

K:大概我對服裝的最初的記憶是一件連帽衫。 我在 7 或 8 歲時自己選擇了那件單品,搭配水桶帽來穿。

A:那是街頭服飾。

K:是的,我當時還騎 BMX 自行車。

A:我覺得當時的日本時尚受美國工裝和Preppy學院風格的影響很大,還有80年代興起的山本耀司和川久保玲。

K:是的,這取決於時期和歷史。 比如二戰後,我們受美國風格的影響很大,因為日本當時被美國占領,所以很多60、70出生的年輕一代都非常熱衷美國風格。 80年代,日本在經濟上變得強大。 同一時期,山本耀司、Comme des Garçons、三宅一生湧現在 70 年代末。

A:你有沒有受到這些趨勢的影響?

K:老實說,並沒有。 即使我在服裝行業工作。 我沒有著迷於這個設計師或那個設計師。當然了,他們做得非常好。 但我的偏好略有不同。 這就是為什麼對我來說,Cohérence 不是一個時尚品牌。 我們只是專注於製作精良的產品,我希望它們最終能延續成為下一個年代的古著。 當然了,所有的產品都蘊含著當下時代的氣息,這也是時尚的一部分,但同時,我從不認為自己是“我在時尚界工作”,我只專注於做工精良的產品。

A:我現在明白了,但是當我在培養自己品味的過程中,最初我受到了很多日本街頭品牌的影響,比如 Nigo 的 Bape、Undercover 或 Master Mind Japan。後來我被川久保玲的設計所吸引。 這是一個逐漸發展的過程。

K:在我的童年時代,我已經被這類藝術家或哲學家包圍。 但即使在我還是個孩子的時候,我從不認為一般的時尚人士很酷。 所以……我的偏好總是關注真實世界的人,真實的衣服。 這就是為什麼我對設計師系列不太感興趣的原因。 但是我喜歡欣賞這些時尚。 例如,馬丁·馬吉拉 (Martin Margiela) 是最具爆炸性影響力的人物之一,因為在我讀藝術大學的時候正是安特衛普六君子(Antwerp Six) 的時代。我這一代的大多數人都深受他們創作的影響,包括 Dries van Noten。 但一如既往的,我不創造時尚,我創造服裝。 不過對我來說,Margiela 是改變遊戲規則的人之一。 他在我們的行業內開創了屬於他的玩法。 這就是我尊重他的原因。 也許可可香奈兒是那種改變遊戲規則的第一人。 在那之後,川久保玲(Rei Kawakubo)也改變了遊戲規則。 對我來說,伊夫·聖羅蘭(Yves Saint Laurent)也是一個改變遊戲規則的人,因為他為女裝帶來了陽剛的男裝元素。 但在川久保玲之後,在我看來,只有 馬丁·馬吉拉才是真正的遊戲規則改變者。

A:馬丁·馬吉拉所做的,在很多方面都非常概念化。 這與你正在做的非常不同。 因為你從紡織開始,而他創造的是一個關於理念的遊戲,一種認知服裝的新方式。

K:這與馬塞爾·杜尚(Marcel Duchamp) 相似。 在馬塞爾·杜尚之後,藝術的方式被徹底改變了。

A:這就是為什麼你用 Marcel Duchamp 來命名你的外套 (MUTT),以紀念那些對文化有重要影響的遊戲規則改變者。

我的大衣廓形非常飽滿寬闊,這來自大衣存在的原因:首先,它必須保護穿著者不受外界的強風和塵土的侵襲。 此外,寬闊的底邊可防止雨水沾濕你的鞋子。

K:是的。

A:但與此同時,你創作的服裝,雖然向一些改變遊戲規則的人致敬,但服裝的輪廓本身非常傳統、永恆和經典。

K:是的。 因為我的靈感來源和我對大衣的認知,特別是對大衣的輪廓和外觀的偏好是偏向寬鬆,餘裕的剪裁。

A:這個部分是你對大衣系列的核心理念。

K:是的。 有時,有些人會說我的系列裁剪是過於寬鬆的。 當然,有些時尚單品被設計成over-sized我能理解。但我的大衣廓形非常飽滿寬闊,這來自大衣存在的原因:首先,它必須保護穿著者不受外界的強風和塵土的侵襲。 此外,寬闊的底邊可防止雨水沾濕你的鞋子。 所以,那個輪廓來自於大衣的機能性考量。 這就是為什麼我總是認為我的大衣外套的剪裁是適中合宜的。

我不能把布料製作、打版、設計、生產和銷售分開。 對我而言,這些都是一個整體。 我可以享受每一個過程。

A:Cohérence 與其他品牌的區別之一是您對紡織面料的專業知識。 僅僅是Jersey平織面料Cohérence就有多種,使用不同的紗線和不同織法。 你的創作過程是怎樣的? 你是從面料創作開始,還是從設計的構思開始?

K:我有不同的創作過程。 例如,我們的麥爾登呢針織面料( Melton Jersey) ,首先是我發現了一款日本最新的織機,我由此產生了用Melton 類型的面料製作外套的構想。而與此同時,我的 Melton,以我的審美,如果它是傳統的麥爾登呢織物,它會很厚很重。因此,就Melton Jersey而言,我的觀點是我們希望保留Melton的原始美感,具有厚實感和爽利的輪廓。 但是,與此同時,我想加入一點最新紡織科技的元素。 因此,我們在保持舊 Melton 的傳統美感的同時,獲得了更輕盈的質感,更有延展性,穿著感更舒適一些。 這是我們經歷的產品開發過程之一。

A:在這種方式裡,您首先從紡織技術開始。 您創新 了Melton 面料。當你開發完面料後,你再決定使用這種面料的設計是什麼?

K:首先,新設計、新面料、新配飾的形象分別存在於我的腦海中,但最後,我把這些構思串連在一起。 這種思維方式來自非常日本的文化。 如您所知,我們使用漢字,但我們有不同的平假名字符,片假名字符僅用於外文,因此我們總是以組合方式使用它們。 在我們的思維方式中,我們在左腦中以圖片的方式捕捉漢字,而在右腦中解讀平假名和片假名。 所以,作為一個天生的日本人,我習慣於同時使用我的左右腦,即使只是在閱讀一些簡單的文字時。

A:我明白了。

K:正如我提到的,我曾與英國和歐洲的品牌合作,以設計師和產品管理的身份在歐洲四處走動。 那段時間,我要去意大利、荷蘭、奧地利、土耳其的工廠……我認為有日本工廠的資源對我來說是很幸運的。 因為如果我想自己製作紗線,與在其他國家生產相比,我在日本可以用很少的訂單量實現我的設計。

 

與此同時,服裝設計師和面料設計師的工作方向是完全不同的。 這就是為什麼即使當服裝設計師已經明確建議使用的面料, 面料設計師有時也會以完全不同的方式安排。 作為在日本工作的日本人,如果我想在日本製作獨家面料,我可以獲得更多的靈活性。 這就是為什麼當我創立 Cohérence 時,已經代表了日本製造,同時銷往全球。 我的定位必須最大限度地發揮日本生產的潛力。 而我很幸運,因為我已經了解面料生產的細節。

A:所以,您既了解產品開發的面料研發方面,也深諳設計方面。

 

K:是的。 而且,服裝製作的整個流程是一個非常一體化的過程。 這就是為什麼我不能把布料製作、打版、設計、生產和銷售分開。 對我而言,這些都是一個整體。 我可以享受每一個過程。一切都在我的體系中自然地結合在一起。

A:您的許多設計靈感都來自 20 世紀初的人物,從畢加索到柯布西耶,您的大衣就是以這些人的名字命名的。 就風格和文化而言,您最喜歡的時代是?

K:就外型而言,我最喜歡的是 1910 年代和 1920 年代的風格。

A:爵士時代。

K:爵士時代是我的最愛。 我愛爵士樂。

A:邁爾斯·戴維斯(Miles Davis)?

K:是的,我小時候試著吹小號。 當然,Miles Davis 是我最喜歡的人物之一,還有 Django Reinhardt——二戰期間法國搖擺爵士樂(Swing Jazz)的吉他手。 這就是我加入樂隊的原因,和我的朋友一起,其中一位是裁縫,一位是爵士咖啡館的老闆,一位是定製帽匠。

A:看上去是一個工匠樂隊呢。 那麼,您喜歡的爵士時代是在歐洲或美國的?

K:歐洲,在巴黎。 因為那個時期的感覺是很Cohérence的。 因為當時世界各地的藝術家都聚集在巴黎。 比如在達達和超現實主義運動中,或許是偶然,許多同時代的藝術家齊聚巴黎,掀起一股不小的浪潮。 那種感覺對我來說很Cohérence。

A:你最喜歡的藝術家是誰?

K:有很多。 我尊重馬塞爾·杜尚 (Marcel Duchamp),因為他改變了遊戲規則。 但我一直以來最喜歡的人之一是卡拉瓦喬 (Carabaggio)。 還有弗朗西斯科·戈雅 (Francisco Goya)。 之後,我很喜歡藤田嗣治 (Leonardo Fujita)。 而在現代來講,我喜歡約瑟夫博伊斯 (Joseph Beuys)。

A:在你之前的採訪中,你提到了像 Achille Castiglioni 這樣的現代設計師。

我希望我的產品作為一種媒介來分享對文化的熱愛,並讓客戶因為功能性而享受穿著它的樂趣。

achille-castiglioni
Achille Castiglioni

K:是的,Castiglioni 是我永遠的偶像。 還有 Gio Ponti 和 Carlo Scarpa。 當然,作為家具設計師,我更喜歡來自丹麥的瓦格納(Hans J. Wegner)。

 

大多數人認為現代設計和極簡主義太冰冷了。 但Castiglioni的設計永遠屬於過去,每一件作品,帶著他的扭曲、玩笑,或者像孩子一樣嘲弄的微笑,都給人一種溫暖的感覺。 那是我最喜歡的。

A:當你設計你的系列時,你理想的客戶是怎樣的?

K:我心裡沒有特定的客戶; 我只想讓我的大衣在客人的衣櫥中陪伴他們一起享受生活,並在未來成為古著。 從另一個角度來看,我希望我的產品作為一種媒介來分享對文化的熱愛,並讓客戶因為功能性而享受穿著它的樂趣。 簡單地說,我想以 Cohérence 的身份與我們的客戶分享關於大衣的浪漫。

A:最後請給年輕設計師一些建議,你認為作為創意總監應該具備的最重要的品質是什麼?

K:首先,在自己感興趣的領域深耕很重要,但同時也不要忘記對不同的文化保持開放的心態。 例如,我非常喜歡服裝,我是許多定制西裝裁縫的客戶,但同時我也喜歡電影、音樂和書籍,各種文化。 不要只是當個服裝的呆子。 與此同時,不要只看短線也很重要,因為那會讓你的核心變得薄弱。 不要認為這一季我需要多做這個百分比的銷售額,因為那樣你會追逐一個短期目標,你的內心會空虛,如果你只追求短期成功,你就不會有時間和機會深入了解事物。 所以,你必須著力構建你的核心。

 

我對電影、音樂和書籍的興趣自然而然地塑造了我的性格,這就是為什麼即使在商業領域我也能樂在其中。 一些年輕人會問我這樣的問題:我要學什麼樣的東西才能成為一名設計師? 我總是建議他們:如果你對電影感興趣,那就去做吧。 你對書籍感興趣。 去吧。 最重要的是,即使你只對服裝或時尚以外的一件事感興趣,也要去做。 一個有趣的例子,我的一個朋友和大學同學,他主修工業設計,但同時也是日本職業棒球的忠實粉絲,他最終成為許多日本職業棒球隊的製服設計師,這是他萬萬沒想到的。 基本上,棒球只是他的愛好,但他是那個領域的高手,這也是他自然而然地專注於此的原因。 有趣的是,他還在動畫片中擔任配音演員。 愛好成了他真正的事業。

>

We use cookies to tailor your experience, measure site performance. By clicking on ‘Got it’, you agree that cookies can be placed. You can view our privacy policies here.

Make your inbox in style

Style Digest, Fashion Decoding & Artisan Insight

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy.