An artisanal luxury media by AGNES SELECT

Search
Close this search box.

The Most Demna Balenciaga Collection Winter ’24

Article Language · 文章語言

He told the journalists after the show: “Fashion has to be radical; it has to be on the edge. Otherwise, it’s a scam.”
Demna Gvasalia AI art created by Agnes Ge

At the headquarters of Balenciaga, a giant portrait of Cristóbal Balenciaga hangs against Demna Gvasalia’s working desk. Known for his radical styles that redefine the look of the house, Demna sews his own vision of fashion’s essence into the luxury house every season. “When a product doesn’t resemble me, a customer doesn’t believe it and doesn’t want to have it.” Demna sometimes calls himself a “fashion activist”. While still paying tribute to the elegant cutting of Cristóbal, this activist goes on fire when it comes to Ready-to-Wear fashion.

Bad Taste and Good Taste

For the Winter 2024 collection, Demna embarked on his signature Dadaism conception and researched in two directions: The idea of bad taste and the idea of good taste.

 

The founder of the house, Cristóbal Balenciaga’s archive, unsurprisingly, is the source of ‘good taste’ that Demna dives into. The opening gowns are direct references to Cristobal’s early ’60s archive. The gown is equipped with a built-in popped hip shape created with shoulder pads from a tailoring jacket, inspired by the “hip-aulette” construction of the founder Cristobal, who is known for his genius on tailoring.

 

Does Demna consider his style “bad taste”? Not really. But for sure, he knows the controversies that his style can provoke. “This is something that makes me really angry often, that the fashion audience always wants fashion to tell this kind of fairy tale… No, it’s not true. It’s kind of pretty awful.” He makes fashion a platform for dialogue and reflection about the world we live in. It’s not just about creating beautiful objects but about sparking conversations and encouraging people to think critically about their choices and the societal norms they subscribe to. His confronting things with the design that creates discomfort for some is exactly the reason why many others love him so much and revere him as a great artist.

 

The Set Design: With Conceptual and Artistic Depth

Balenciaga 24 Winter Set Design
Balenciaga 24 Winter Set Design

photo credit: balenciaga.com

Demna uses set design as the backdrop of his creations that engage with broader cultural and societal issues. In the Winter 2022 show, he let models walk through an artificial snowstorm with 100km/h wind speed in a glass bowl, echoing refugees’ conditions and the Ukraine war. It is impressive, not because it’s as grand as Chanel’s nor as dramatic as AVAVAV would put on. Demna said, “There is a conceptual and artistic depth to it”. In the 2019 Fall collection, Demna transformed a sound stage into a Parliamentary chamber, and for Spring 2023, the show was held on the trading floor of the New York Stock Exchange.

 

For Winter ’24, every surface in the venue is a screen, enveloping models and attendees in a barrage of digital content. This immersive environment is designed to reflect the endless stream of data and images that define our daily experiences. It is Demna’s poignant commentary on how the digital age overwhelms our senses and perhaps detracts from our ability to appreciate the inherent qualities of human nature, which he considers pretty “dangerous”: “So I wanted to create this juxtaposition between the overload of content and the idea of us not being able to focus on things that actually matter.”

The Most Demna kind of Balenciaga

Balenciaga 24 Winter
Balenciaga 24 Winter

By juxtaposing references to Cristóbal Balenciaga’s elegance and the more controversial, drastic looks he’s known for, Demna seems to be questioning and expanding the boundaries of what is considered tasteful in fashion. By fusing the two directions into one, the Winter ’24 was considered “the most Demna kind of collection” by the designer himself.

 

Looking closer at the Winter ’24 collection, the evolution of Cristóbal’s silhouette and Demna’s aesthetic is evident on the designed tag attached to the gown’s sleeves. The tag unremoved as part of the look is a typical Demna aesthetic from his obsession with the idea of “ready-made”.

 

Having hammered his personal style for 10 years since his creation of VETEMENTS, Demna’s creation for this season inherits his typical spontaneous approach: The Bra Gown (although he admits it took much longer to engineer the look); Dresses and tops are either messily patched or taped together with transparent Balenciaga tape; Dust bags or trousers are used as tops, etc. All those elements are indeed very “Demna”.

Balenciaga 24 Winter
Balenciaga 24 Winter
Balenciaga 24 Winter
Balenciaga 24 Winter

Accessories: Remain Incognito

For many fashionistas, the futuristic 24/7 Mask is one of the coolest eyewear out there. This collection uses accessories to symbolize our tethered existence to technology. Models adorned with phone-cuff bracelets and vision-obscuring beanies (but allow one to see incognito). These design choices are not merely aesthetic decisions but are laden with commentary on how digital connectivity shapes our identities and interactions.

 

The 24/7 Mask, released after the show, has gone out of stock in no time, and now, the audience can try on the Balenciaga beanie from the collection through AR technology to experience how Demna feels about this over-saturated information world: “[the beanie design] It’s my status of being right now; I just don’t want to see all the stuff. [But] I don’t have a choice.”

Balenciaga 24 Winter
Balenciaga 24 Winter
Balenciaga 24 Winter

eBay Invitation

Worth mentioning, the 800 invitations for the show were all bought from eBay. Demna handpicked random antique pieces from eBay and sent them to the guests from Balenciaga’s headquarters. “The value is not the price; the value is the story behind, that we would never know. It’s a mystery. Nothing is mysterious anymore; everything is in your face. And I love their logos.”

Luxury Doesn’t Equal Fashion

Balenciaga 24 winter
Balenciaga 24 Winter

Doubting the normal conception of confusing luxury with fashion, Demna believes “fashion has been taken hostage a bit by the luxury industry, and now it doesn’t really need it anymore.” Demna rebooted Balenciaga’s couture project in 2020 after Cristóbal closed the door in 1968 due to refusal and repugnance about ready-to-wear. (Back then, due to the underdeveloped machinery and industry chain, RTW was considered bad quality and cheap, yet more than half a century later, custom-made couture and RTW are just two systems that operate in totally different approaches.) While paying tribute to the house’s heritage and proving his ability to compose the most delicate couture wear, this decision also liberates Demna in expressing his personal styles in the house: “Couture allows me to be free in RTW”, Demna told fashion journalist Cathy Horyn in a recent interview.

 

Demna can transform mundane things like a wildly acknowledged logo or everyday object into hype by changing its context. Evident in Damna’s T-shirt game: From the iconic DHL T-shirt of his VETEMENT era to this season’s eBay reverse T-shirt. On the runway, the “Ciao Bello” phrase appeared on a jumper printed in Coca-Cola font design; the “Keep calm and wear this Balenciaga sweater” slogan appears on a turtleneck. The Alpinestars biker gloves are transformed into a zipped pouch.

 

Demna’s manipulation of the clothing dialogue shows his profound read on contemporary culture and genius of making metaphorical commentary through his design based on his observations. He told the journalists after the show: “Fashion has to be radical; it has to be on the edge. Otherwise, it’s a scam.”

Demna Gvasalia by Agnes GE
Demna Gvasalia by Agnes GE
>

We use cookies to tailor your experience, measure site performance. By clicking on ‘Got it’, you agree that cookies can be placed. You can view our privacy policies here.

Make your inbox in style

Style Digest, Fashion Decoding & Artisan Insight

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

An artisanal luxury media by AGNES SELECT

搜尋
Close this search box.

最 Demna 的巴黎世家 24冬季系列

Article Language · 文章語言

秀後他對記者說:「時尚必須激進; 它必須是極致的(on the edge)。 否則那就是商業騙局。」
Demna Gvasalia AI art created by Agnes Ge

在 Balenciaga (巴黎世家)總部,品牌設計師Demna Gvasalia 的辦公桌後方高懸著一張巨幅的 Cristóbal Balenciaga肖像,像是在审视着 Demna如何在每一季將自己對時尚本质的见解融入这间奢侈品牌中,并以其激烈的个人風格重新定义Balenciaga的面貌, 「當產品與我不一樣時,顧客就會不相信它,也不想擁有它。」Demna 有時會稱自己為「時尚活動家」,在向 Cristóbal 的優雅剪裁致敬的同時,這位活動家在成衣時尚(Ready-to-Wear)領域火力全開。

壞品味和好品味

在 2024 年冬季系列中,Demna延續他充滿達達主義色彩的設計概念,在「壞品味」和「好品味」兩個方向展開探討。

 

毫無意外,以天才的剪裁聞名於世的品牌創始人 Cristóbal Balenciaga 的設計檔案是 Demna 挖掘「好品味」的創意來源。 這場秀的開幕禮服直接參考了 Cristobal 60 年代早期的設計, Demna 用西裝外套中的墊肩置入裙子髖部塑造的獨特造型,其靈感來自Cristóbal的「hip-aulette」臀部剪裁。

 

所以Demna 認為自己的風格就是「壞品味」嗎? 當然不會。 但可以肯定的是,他知道他的風格會引發的爭議。 「這常常讓我非常生氣,時尚觀眾總是希望時尚講述某種童話故事……不,那不是真的。 真實的世界很糟糕。」 他使時尚成為對話和反思我們所生活的世界的平台。這不僅僅關於創造美麗的物品,而是激發對話並鼓勵人們批判性地思考他們的選擇和他們所遵守的社會規範。 他用會讓某些人皺眉的設計來揭露一些事,而這正是許多人如此愛他、認為他是了不起的藝術家的原因。

秀場佈景設計:「具有概念與藝術深度」

Balenciaga 24 Winter Set Design
Balenciaga 24 Winter Set Design

photo credit: balenciaga.com

Demna利用佈景設計作為涉及更廣泛的文化和社會議題的創作背景。 在2022年冬季秀中,他讓模特兒在玻璃罩中穿越風速100公里/小時的人造暴風雪,呼應難民的處境和烏克蘭戰爭。 這令人印象深刻,並不是因為它像 Chanel 的秀場那樣一擲千金的宏偉,也不像AVAVAV 那樣故意製造戲劇性引人側目, 正如Demna所說,「它有概念和藝術的深度在其中。」在 2019 年秋季系列中,Demna 將攝影棚改造成議會廳,而 2023 年春季系列則直接在紐約證券交易所的交易大廳舉行。

 

對於24年冬季系列,場館中的每個表面都是螢幕,將模特兒和觀秀嘉賓包圍在大量數位內容中。 這種沉浸式環境旨在反映定義我們日常體驗的無盡數據和圖像流。 這是Demna對數位時代如何壓制我們感官的尖銳評論,他認為迷失在數據流中削弱了我們欣賞人性內在品質的能力,這是相當「危險」的:「在海量的內容裡,人無法看到真正重要的事情。」

最Demna的Balenciaga系列?

Balenciaga 24 Winter
Balenciaga 24 Winter

透過將 Cristóbal Balenciaga 的優雅與Demna所聞名的更具爭議性、激烈的創意設計並置,Demna 似乎在質疑和試圖擴展時尚界關於美和品味的界限。 透過將兩個方向融合為一體,24 年冬季系列被設計師本人認為是「最 Demna 的系列」。

 

近看 24 冬季系列,Cristóbal 的輪廓和 Demna 美學的融合演化從開場禮服袖口墜出的品牌標籤就可窺知一二。 作為造型的一部分呈現而未被去除的標籤是典型的 Demna 美學,源於他對「Ready-made (現成)」理念的執著。

 

自VETEMENTS 創立以來,Demna 已經錘鍊了自己的個人風格10 年時間,本季的創作繼承了他典型的即興創意風格:用數不清的胸衣打造的禮服Bra Gown(儘管他承認這個創意想起來快,但花了很長時間來實現);連衣裙和上衣或是用看似凌亂的素材縫補在一起,或是用Balenciaga牌透明膠帶直接粘在一起;包包的防塵袋或褲子直接套上身變成上衣等,這些元素都非常具有「Demna」風格。

Balenciaga 24 Winter
Balenciaga 24 Winter
Balenciaga 24 Winter
Balenciaga 24 Winter

配飾設計:保持隱身狀態

秀場中出現的超未來主義的 24/7 Mask墨鏡大概是市面上最酷的眼鏡。本系列的配飾設計象徵著我們與科技產品的關係。 模特兒戴著狀似手銬的手機手鐲和遮住大半張臉的針織帽(但視線可以看到外面)。 這些設計不僅僅是美學決策,也充滿了對數位連結如何塑造我們的身份和互動方式的評論。

 

秀後發布的限量24/7 Mask 很快就脫銷了,現在觀眾可以透過 AR 技術試戴該系列中的 Balenciaga 毛線帽,體驗 Demna 對這種資訊過度的感受:「(那款毛線帽的設計)就是我現在的狀態; 我只是不想接收所有的東西。 但我別無選擇。」

Balenciaga 24 Winter
Balenciaga 24 Winter
Balenciaga 24 Winter

eBay 邀請函

值得一提的是,本次秀的800張邀請函全部是從eBay上購買的。 Demna 親自從 eBay 上隨機挑選了一些古董,並將它們從 Balenciaga 總部寄給每位客人。 「珍貴的不是這些物品的價格,而是它代表的價值,是每件東西背後的故事,而我們永遠不會知道。 這是一個謎。 現如今再沒有什麼是神秘的了, 一切都被推送到你面前。 而且我喜歡他们(eBay)的Logo。」

奢侈品不等於時尚

Balenciaga 24 winter
Balenciaga 24 Winter

Demna 對將奢侈品與時尚混為一談的一般性概念表示懷疑,他認為「時尚在一定程度上已經被奢侈品行業劫持了,但現在時尚不再需要它了。」1968 年,Cristóbal 因為拒絕和厭惡成衣而關閉了 Balenciaga 高級定制屋,而Demna於 2020 年重新啟動了 Balenciaga 的高級定制項目。 (當年,由於機械和成衣產業鏈不成熟,成衣被認為品質差、廉價的代名詞,但半個多世紀後,訂製時裝和成衣只是兩種運作方式完全不同的體系。)秉承品牌傳統,並證明自己有能力打造最精緻的高級訂製服裝,這一決定也讓Demna 在品牌中更自由地表達個人風格:「高級定制讓我可以在成衣系列中更自在」,Demna 在最近的一次採訪中告訴時尚記者Cathy Horyn。

 

Demna 擅長通過改變語境讓平凡的東西(例如大眾辨識度高的logo或日常物品)變成熱門潮流。 這從 Demna 的 T恤玩法中可見一斑:從他 VETEMENTS時代大火的 DHL T恤到本季的 eBay 反穿T恤。 在走秀款中,套頭衫上出現了採用可口可樂字體設計的「Ciao Bello」片語; 高領毛衣上的標語靈感來自英國的遊客紀念品商店:「Keep calm and wear this Balenciaga sweater (保持冷靜,穿上這件 Balenciaga 毛衣)」。而Alpinestars 牌的機車騎士厚手套更被改造成一個拉鍊手拿包。

 

Demna 玩轉服裝語言的背後是他對當代文化的深刻洞察,透過設計進行隱喻評論。 秀後他對記者說:「時尚必須激進; 它必須是極致的(on the edge)。 否則那就是商業騙局。」

Demna Gvasalia by Agnes GE
Demna Gvasalia by Agnes GE
>

We use cookies to tailor your experience, measure site performance. By clicking on ‘Got it’, you agree that cookies can be placed. You can view our privacy policies here.

Make your inbox in style

Style Digest, Fashion Decoding & Artisan Insight

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy.