ARTISAN | 名匠

A New Chapter in Marol — the Bologna Master Shirtmaker

Share:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on tumblr
Share on email

People saying the shoe is the first thing people notice about a person. In my case, especially when saying a male, it’s often the shirt collar that catches my eye in the first place.

Take a stroll in the National Portrait Gallery’s 17th-century room, probably the most prominent feature one can notice is those sophisticated shirt collars & cuffs.

The 1st Earl of Monmouth and his family attributed to Paul van Somer oil on canvas, circa 1617

From the 16th to the 18th century, the shirts worn by the European male royalties are no less flamboyant than today’s most delicate Haute Couture designs for women.

The shirt, survived from “the Great Male Renunciation” period through the 18th century, remains an essential garment in men’s wardrobe.

Up until the mid-19th century, with the overwhelming influence of George Bryan Brummel and the dandy culture, wearing a white linen shirt shows the prestigious social status of the gentleman.  As Alan Flusser noted: “The shirt, more than any other male garment, has served to distinguish a man’s wealth and social class.”

Been through the ups and downs of fashion, the shirt never lost its position in modern citizens’ wardrobe. Nowadays, the importance of shirts is even higher with the revival of tailoring culture.

In the late September, I met Bo Yang, the Canadian former investment banker and commodities trader, who had joined the army of reviving tailoring culture since a few years ago. Being a style enthusiast, Bo soon befriended with Hugo Jacomet, a men’s style writer and the founder of the Parisian Gentleman. Bo was looking for opportunities to peruse his passion into tailoring and fine craftsmanship back then. As one of the most well-informed men in the sartorial area after visiting thousands of ateliers and factories, Hugo introduced Moral, a family-run shirt manufacture from Bologna, Italy, to Bo……

The entire MAROL family, including Oscar the dog.

Now as the co-owner and Managing Director of Marol 1959, Bo has his own strategies to turn around the anonymous (only to the majorities) shirt manufacturer into a dedicated shirt brand.

Based on Marol’s pre-existing reputation among insiders (they were the supplier for shirts labelled by Anderson & Shepperd Haberdashery), Bo Yang quickly made it one of the frequently mentioned shirt makers among some of the most celebrated menswear media. 

Bo Yang

There are parameters from which you can tell if a shirt is well made or not. Parisian gentleman has published two specific articles on this topic in 2017. Based on the parameters, there are many shreds of evidence to list Marol among other top-tier shirt makers in the world: From Hand-cut, hand-sewn buttonholes to 13 stitches per centimetre of seams, with the finest fabrics sourced around the globe (Silks from Como. Cotton and linen from Egypt & the Caribbean islands. Mother-of-pearl buttons from Australia).

But for Bo Yang, all the previously mentioned traits are not enough to make Marol an ultimate luxury brand, he also values the experience and fitting for Marol’s bespoke shirts consumers.

Hence, since November 2018, he started a collaboration with the Neapolitan tailoring house, Sartoria Peluso, to satisfy the needs of a perfectly fit bespoke shirt. In his own words: “I realised that with my strategy with Marol, I needed the help of a real tailor as well for my shirting business. Because customers at this level, is demanding a certain level of product, our craftsmanship is second to none, now I can say with confidence, but the level of fit also need be second to none. And you can only achieve that when you are working with a master tailor.”

Pino explaining the shoulder structure to a customer during trunk show

The philosophy behind this form of a duo, as Bo explained: “I’m not only preaching an Italian product, I’m also preaching Italian Style.” Peluso Jackets was used when styling a Marol shirt, while the consumer who is satisfied with the effect might place an order on both.

“I’m being honest, especially with the shirt, it looks beautify out of a box, but when you put it on, it’s always a little bit here and there, which is a shame, for me. Because it doesn’t do the craftsmanship justice. So, when he (Pino Peluso) finally arrives, he can communicate very well with my ladies in the factory… And once the finished product appears, a Marol craftsmanship with a bespoke fit, the customers goes ‘Now, I’m with you forever’.”

Middle: Pino Peluso; Right: Bo Yang

When been asked what the essence of bespoke shirts is, Bo said: “the essential aspect of the bespoke shirt is how it seats on your shoulder”.

To have a shirt sitting perfectly on a shoulder is not always as easy as it sounds. “Unfortunately, rarely are we perfect, our shoulder may be sloping, may be flat, or one sloping more than the other, or even one forward one back, in the measure of millimetres of course”. Bo told me.

This reminds me of the German menswear writer Bernhard Roetzel’s comment on bespoke shirt making:

“An authentic shirt maker will also allow for any idiosyncrasies of the physique, such as a hanging shoulder on one side or a stooped posture. He will seek to eliminate or at least minimise the creases that such variations in the figure would other cause, without—unlike a suit tailor—having recourse the use of lining or padding—he can only work from the cut.”

It is a high skill demanding task, as Bo said: “Starting from the neck, all the way to the end of the shoulder is a journey”.

Bo believes that although many people don’t think they’d need a bespoke shirt, having a shirt sets beautifully on the shoulder, it’s not only a thing to see, but a thing for the wearer to feel.

When collaborating with Pino Peluso on bespoke shirts, the master tailor tends to cut the sleeves of long. Usually, it’s 5cm longer than a bespoke jacket (not 2cm). “Minimum 5”, added Pino. Because according to Pino, the cuff is the trick, it has to be tight to the wrist, the cuff also holds the extra fabric on top. So that it gives the space for the movement when the wearer swings the arm. Otherwise, it can be blocky and limiting the range of motion. “It’s these tricks, that are counter – intuitive, but that’s the real essence of bespoke. Of course, it’s not about showing your initials, but the things that allow your movement, that people don’t usually see.”

Bo Yang

This duo trunk show has been fairly successful among the 4 cities they visited; Bo proudly told me.

To lean more about Marol’s Bespoke ,Made-to-Measure (MTM) & Made-to-Order (MTO)service,you can send the enquire directly to:marol@marol.it

  • I would be so grateful if Mr Yang could answer to a simple question: does he think to pay salaries of people who worked for him in Marol, this wonderful company?

  • I would be so grateful if Mr Yang could answer to a simple question: does he think to pay salaries of people who worked for him in Marol, this wonderful company?

ARTISAN | 名匠

Marol的新篇章 — 來自意大利博洛尼亞的襯衫大師

Share:

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 linkedin
分享在 pinterest
分享在 tumblr
分享在 email

人們常說鞋子是一個人首先會被注意到的地方。就我而言,尤其和男性見面時,我的視線通常會先落在對方的襯衫領子上。

如果你有機會去倫敦的國家肖像畫廊(National Portrait Gallery)的17世紀展廳中走走,你會發現所有畫中人最引人矚目的地方正是那些精緻的襯衫領和袖口。

The 1st Earl of Monmouth and his family attributed to Paul van Somer oil on canvas, circa 1617

從16世紀到18世紀,那些歐洲貴族男士們的襯衫與當今最精緻的女裝高定設計幾乎一樣華麗。

即使在18世紀崇尚刪繁就簡的“男性大棄絕”時期,襯衫由於其不可替代的日常機能性,也幸得保留。直到今日,它們仍是男士衣櫃中必不可少的服裝。

直至19世紀中葉,在喬治·布魯梅爾(George Bryan Brummel)和花花公子(Dandy)文化的影響下,穿著白色亞麻襯衫成為了紳士社會地位的象徵。正如艾倫·弗瑟(Alan Flusser)指出的:“襯衫比任何其他男性服裝都更能區分男人的財富和社會階層。”

經歷了數個世紀的時尚變遷,襯衫在現代都市人的衣櫃中從未失去其地位。如今,它更隨著裁縫文化的複興而愈發重要。

9月下旬,我遇見了加拿大前投資銀行家和期貨投資人楊博(Bo),他自幾年前就加入了復興裁縫文化的隊伍。身為剪裁風格愛好者,Bo很快與男士風格作家兼Parisian Gentleman創始人Hugo Jacomet結識。曾拜訪過成百上千裁縫和鞋匠的Hugo是這個領域最為博聞強識的人物之一,他向Bo引介了意大利博洛尼亞的家族經營襯衫製造商Marol。

The entire MAROL family, including Oscar the dog.

如今,Bo已經是Marol 1959的共同所有人和總經理,他顯然擁有自己的策略,將Marol 1959從隱身幕後的襯衫製造商轉變為專注品質的意大利襯衫品牌。

基於Marol在業內的聲譽(他們是Anderson&Shepperd Haberdashery選擇的襯衫供應商),楊博很快推動其成為男裝媒體經常提及的襯衫製造商之一。

Bo Yang

你可以通過一些客觀參數判斷一件襯衫是否製作精良,Parisian Gentleman曾在2017年發表的兩篇有關該主題的文章可以作為參考。基於這些參數,有許多證據讓Marol被列為世界頂級襯衫製造商:從手工剪裁、手工縫製的鈕扣孔到13針每厘米的接縫;全球最優質面料的使用(來自科莫的絲綢;來自埃及和加勒比海島嶼的棉麻產品;以及來自澳大利亞的珍珠母鈕扣)。

但是對於Bo來說,前面所說的品質尚不足以使其成為Marol被懂行的消費者所擁簇的襯衫品牌,他意識到定制襯衫合身性的重要。

因此,自2018年11月起,他開始與那不勒斯裁縫公司Sartoria Peluso進行合作,以滿足客人對完美合身的定制襯衫的需求。用他自己的話說:“我意識到在Marol的戰略下,我的襯衫業務也需要真正裁縫的幫助。因為處於這個級別的客戶需要特定級別的產品。我們的手工藝是首屈一指的,但是襯衫合身的程度也需要首屈一指。而只有與大師級的裁縫一起工作,才能實現這一目標。”

Pino explaining the shoulder structure to a customer during trunk show

正如Bo所解釋的,這種合作形式背後的哲學是:“我不僅在宣傳意大利產品,也在宣揚意大利風格。” 用Peluso的西裝外套搭配Marol襯衫向客戶展示時,如果消費者對此效果感到滿意,他很可能兩件都訂。

“坦白講,尤其是襯衫,看起來很完美穿在身上卻常常難以達到預期的效果。如此好的工藝卻不能展現其魅力,這對我來說真是可惜。因此,他(Pino Peluso)的出現(解決了問題),因為都是意大利人,他可以和我工廠中的女士們交流得很順暢…而最終創作出Marol精工細作的定制系列,我們的顧客也會因此更加忠實。”

Middle: Pino Peluso; Right: Bo Yang

當被問及定制襯衫的本質是什麼時,Bo說:“定制襯衫的基本要素是一件襯衫如何鋪展在你的肩膀上”。

這聽起來或許簡單,但並不容易做到。 Bo告訴我“不幸的是,我們很少是完美的,我們可能會有斜肩,平肩或一邊比另一邊傾斜更多,甚至一邊向前一邊向後,當然這是以毫米為單位。”

這讓我想起了德國男裝作家Bernhard Roetzel對定制襯衫的評論:

“真正的襯衫製造商也要考慮到各種體格特質,例如一側肩膀低或彎腰駝背。他將設法消除或至少最小化這種體格特徵導致的不平整,而且與西服裁縫師不同,他無法依靠借用襯里或填充物,只能從剪裁中著手。”

這是對於技術的要求非常高。正如Bo所說:“從脖子開始一直到肩膀末端,都是一段旅程”。

在他看來,儘管許多人認為自己不需要定制的襯衫,但當一件剪裁完全合身的襯衫落在肩膀上時,這不僅是用來看的,而且是需要去感受的。

Bo透露,當與Pino Peluso合作定制襯衫時,Pino往往會把袖子裁剪很長。 “通常,袖子要比定制西裝外套要長出5厘米(而不是2厘米)”。 Pino補充說:“最少5厘米”。根據Pino的說法,袖口是這麼做的竅訣所在,它必須緊緊圍繞腕部;同時袖口還可以將多餘的面料固定在頂部。因此,當穿著者擺動手臂時,多出來的袖長提供了運動空間。否則動作會受到限制。 Bo說:“這些竅訣可能是出人意料的,但這是定制的真正實質。當然,定制襯衫絕不是繡上你姓名首字母那麼表面的事情,而是讓你在衣服裡可以有更靈活的動作,而這是人們通常所看不見的”。

Bo Yang

Bo告訴我,從2018年11月以來,Marol和Sartoria Peluso合作的Trunk Show在他們訪問的4個國際城市中都取得了相當成功。

想了解更多Marol Bespoke ,Made-to-Measure (MTM) 以及 Made-to-Order (MTO)的相關信息,可以直接將需求電郵至:marol@marol.it